Floral Robson trench: finally finished cutting

sewaholic-robson-trench-hair-canvas-on-front-facings

After many months and what seems like an epic number of hours hunched over my cutting table, I’m happy to report that all the millions of pieces of my floral Robson trench coat are finally cut, interfaced, and ready to sew.  Hooray!  🙂

As you can see above, I’m using fusible hair canvas on the front facings to give the lapels a bit of structure.  This is the good stuff from Fashion Sewing Supply.  It’s my first time using it, so we’ll see how it goes!  I opted NOT to use sew-in hair canvas and pad stitch it in, mostly to preserve my sanity.  The lapels may stick out a bit as a result, but I think I’m ok with that.

sewaholic-robson-trench-interfacing-along-hems

I’m using regular interfacing along the jacket and sleeve hems.  I’ve done this before with my Simplicity 2446 blazers to great effect.

sewaholic-robson-trench-pile-of-cut-and-interfaced-pieces

There is quite a large pile of cut pieces currently sitting on my sewing table.  It’s a little overwhelming!  Between the floral outer fabric, flannel interlining, rayon lining, and all the little pieces for the pockets, sleeve tabs, welts, etc…. I think this coat is going to weigh a ton!  Not to mention the awesome black bias binding that is going to be outlining all the major pieces.  🙂

readers-digest-complete-guide-to-sewing-interlining-instructions

I’ve been reading up on how to assemble a jacket with both an interlining and lining.  I think I may leave all 3 layers as separate as possible to allow for movement, but I have a feeling I’ll wing it as I start assembling.  One thing I’ve decided is that I won’t be treating the interlining like an underlining (assembling the main fabric and interlining as one) since I don’t want the bulk of the flannel in the major garment seams.  We’ll see if I live to regret this or not!

At this point the sewing has officially begun: I started putting together the interlining pieces over the weekend.  I’m excited!  The cutting on this project was really weighing me down, but now that it’s done and fall is approaching, I’ve found some momentum on this project.  I’ll keep you posted.  🙂

19 thoughts on “Floral Robson trench: finally finished cutting

  1. I was just thinking about you and this project last week – I started (thinking about) drafting a fall coat for myself and was wondering how your lovely floral one ever turned out. I’m excited to see the results!

    • Haha, thanks Emily! This coat has been an extremely long-term project for me, but I am determined to actually finish it… eventually. 🙂 That’s exciting that you may draft your own! What kind of coat are you thinking about?

    • Thanks Ali. I’ve learned to take lots of stretching breaks while sewing these days, and especially while cutting out fabric. I raised up my cutting table recently, which has been helping a lot. Thanks for your concern. 🙂

  2. I’m so excited to see how this coat comes together! I know what you mean about the cutting on this project – it seems to take forever! But once it’s done, there are lots of little bits that can be done in short sewing sessions. I liked that a lot about making this coat.

    • Glad to hear it. I’m hoping to get most of the sewing on this done over the weekends, but it’s encouraging to hear that little bits can get done during the week as well. I want to start wearing this coat already!

  3. Good luck with the trench coat making – I am ready for a slightly more autumnal project, but keeping it much simpler with the Papercut waver jacket! Can’t wait to see how you get on

    Louise

Leave a Comment

