Summer vacation

Raspberry kiss quilt - blocks assembled into rows 1

That’s right folks, I’m on vacation!  After a very challenging summer at work, I’m taking a few days off to recover before all the craziness associated with the fall semester kicks in.  It’s my favorite type of vacation, too: staying home with nothing planned.  I feel so freeeeeeee!!!

Case in point: I am writing this post out on the roof deck in the middle of the afternoon with a belly full of sushi and a cup of coffee brewing.  My sewing machine is in the adjacent room along with my rainbow quilt top in progress.  Maggie (my sweet kitty) is napping on her cardboard scratcher, and all is quiet here in Cambridge.  Honestly, it doesn’t get much better than this.  🙂

Raspberry kiss quilt - blocks assembled into rows 2

I could go on and on about my experience managing a team of students this summer, as I certainly have a lot of reflections about what went well and what I would change for next time.  The bottom line, however, is that although it was utterly exhausting work, I think overall it all went well.  At least, that’s what I’m telling myself.  Constructive criticism can wait until my vacation is over.  🙂

Now I find myself with some down time to actually enjoy the summer while it’s still around.  I haven’t done anything this summer except work and sleep, so I’m looking forward to breathing in some fresh air, soaking up some sun, drinking some fresh lemonade, and parading around the deck in my bathing suit.  Good thing the neighbors can’t see me from here.  My pasty white skin would blind them!

Raspberry kiss quilt - 1 row assembled

On the sewing front, I’m still working on putting this massive rainbow quilt top together, and my floral Robson is nearly all cut out and waiting for some focus and motivation.  As you may have noticed, my sewing output has ground to a screeching halt ever since I took this new job almost a year ago, but I’m still plugging away at my projects slowly but surely.  Now that I have a few days off, I hope to make some decent progress and have something to share.

Garden summer 2016 1

This lavender plant is finally growing after months of just sitting there!

Garden summer 2016 2

Weeds can be beautiful too.

Ah, vacation.  A time to hit the reset button and remind myself that, yes, I’m actually a human being.  For a while there I was pretty sure I had turned into a science robot.  “Boop boop beep, where’s my data?!?!??”

I hope you’re all enjoying your summer (or winter) and can find a few moments to relax and refresh.

17 thoughts on “Summer vacation

      • Sounds perfect to me! I love watching Olympics but the kids bedtimes always mess it up for me. I try to speed through the stuff on the DVR during the day. It goes much faster when I fast forward the commercials and lots of talking.

  1. Enjoy your vacation!! The weather today is beautiful with the breeze!! I myself am counting down the days until next week when my girls start school and I can get projects done rather than just drive them allover the north shore!

Leave a Comment

