Analysis paralysis

Circle of rainbow raspberry kiss blocks

With nearly enough blocks to start assembling my quilt top, analysis paralysis has set in.  I have a rainbow of colors, but should they be arranged in rainbow order or not?

The random order is a little less obvious than a classic rainbow, but do the colors get jumbled with such a variety?

Raspberry kiss - 81 blocks in random order

Then again, although rainbow order is super cliche, do the colors look more harmonious in a more organized layout?

Raspberry kiss - 81 blocks in rainbow order

Or should I do something else entirely?  Perhaps a hybrid of the two?

The quilt is currently 81 blocks strong (9 x 9), and I think I’m going to make 18 more, for a total of 99 (9 x 11).  So, I have some wiggle room to adjust the color scheme a bit, perhaps making more of one color than another.

I think I know what I want to do, and it involves a bit more rearranging.  What do you think?  Honest opinions welcome!

26 thoughts on “Analysis paralysis

  1. I like the more organized version. Maybe you can do a shape or spiral of color if the ombré rainbow is too organized for you? The first picture of the squares in a circle is definitely my favorite, but that would take a lot of extra to make it work as a quilt.

    • Yes, I totally agree! Turning the circle into a quilt would be tricky, but it would be pretty awesome. I’m probably not up to such an undertaking, but I really like the idea of turning the rainbow into a different shape, or at least rearranging it somehow. Thanks for the suggestions!

  2. I like both but there is something about the rainbow version that is more appealing. Maybe it’s a reaction to a need for visual order? Maybe it’s the color on such a light background ? I’d do rainbow. With a cool binding.

    I’d love to hear more about Cambridge Modern Quilt Guild, have you been to many meetings? I’m thinking of joining.

    Happy seeing!

    • Thanks, and great suggestion for a cool binding. I hadn’t even thought about the binding yet!

      And yes, the Cambridge Modern Quilt Guild is awesome, and you should definitely join!! I’ve been to almost all of the meetings, and the next one is this Sunday, July 31. It is a very diverse and urban guild, and everyone is super friendly and chill. They have lots of events, sew-ins, charity and community projects, etc., but there is no pressure to participate is anything you don’t want to. Plus there are always good snacks. 🙂 Hope to see you on Sunday!

  3. Oh I love the idea of a spiral that someone else mentioned – I think that’d look really amazing. I do like both versions you have – the random is a great riot of colour – very bright and happy. On first glance I love the rainbow version too, but upon further contemplation I keep finding inconsistencies that just slightly bug me so for me that one would be out.

    • Haha, yes, the rainbow version isn’t quite perfect. I didn’t plan out the variety of colors very carefully (or at all, really), and it shows when you try to line everything up. I’m leaning toward some sort of rainbow ordered layout, but not quite as grid-like as the version above. The spiral is an awesome idea – I wonder how hard that would be to execute!

  4. Carolyn, I have just finished making 100 6.5″ squares for Tula Pink’s City Sampler Quit, which features the rainbow arrangement that originally attracted me to this project…I like the restful quality of the rainbow for your quilt, but the he random order has a lot of “action”. Have you thought of making gradients, starting with darker colors in the center and moving outward into lighter shade? If you’re feeling brave, a wander over to Pinterest…!

    • Oh my gosh, Ellen, that is an epic project!! I hope you post photos when you’re done! 🙂 I haven’t tried any other layouts for my quilt yet, but there are a bunch of great suggestions in this post. I like the idea of keeping some form of gradient. I’m going to play around with the blocks a bit more this weekend.

Leave a Comment

