Coloring: Beemused

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused

“Beemused” – Ink design by Johanna Basford in Secret Garden, coloring and addition of various critters by me.

This page took quite a bit longer than I had expected, but hopefully it was worth it in the end.  I have to admit, I’m not 100% convinced about my choice of yellow for the background, but it’s too late to change it now.  Onward!

In progress

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused in progress 1

I quickly learned that the light-colored background had to be colored in before the darker flowers to avoid smearing the dark colors later.  Coloring around all those teeny-tiny leaves was quite an undertaking!

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused in progress 2

For the leaves, I used a palette of blues, purples, and pinks.  Each leaf is two-toned (which also took forever).Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused in progress 3

The background inside the maze is a slightly lighter yellow, a combination of bright yellow (very lightly shaded over the white) followed by heavy coloring in a cream color.

Finished!

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused 2

For the first time, I added a bunch of drawn elements myself.  I drew a series of bees with curly flight lines to complete the maze, and I added some mushrooms and ants throughout the maze for fun.  The style of all the added elements was blatantly copied from elsewhere in the book.  🙂

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused detail 1 Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Beemused detail 2

The extra drawing was made possible by a newly purchased “artist pen,” which, I have to admit, makes me feel like an artist.  Hahaha.  This pen cost about $5 and was picked up at my local Michaels (a discount chain craft store).  It’s a Faber-Castell Pitt artist pen, filled with black India ink, featuring an extra superfine (0.1 mm) nib.  The pen is advertised as waterproof, permanent, and archival.  I’ve only used it a bit so far, but I quite like it!

Faber-Castell Extra Superfine India Ink pen - with sketches

I practiced the critters a bit before getting to work in my coloring book.  You know, can’t ruin all my hard work.  This coloring thing is serious business.  🙂

Faber-Castell Extra Superfine India Ink pen - tip

And here’s a close-up of the nib.  It’s pretty tiny!  Perfect for creating fine drawings of mystical creatures.

It feels pretty silly to be spending so much time coloring, you know, as an adult, but whatever!  It’s creative and relaxing with zero pressure to perform.  Just what I need with my job craziness these days.

Hope you’ve all been doing well!

10 thoughts on “Coloring: Beemused

    • Thanks Ali, I miss it too! My back is feeling much better (and thankfully it was nothing serious), and I’m itching to get back to my sewing machine. Maybe this weekend! 🙂

  1. Love the colouring – I started doing art classes last year and I am finding it really absorbing, so I understand how you feel (I am very bad at it so won’t be blogging any of my creations!) Hope you get back to sewing again soon – I have had a very slow couple of months but getting back into it now!

    Louise

    • Oh, how interesting! What types of art classes are you taking? Painting, drawing, sculpture? Just curious – I’ve always wanted to take art classes. 🙂 Glad to hear you’ve been getting back into sewing. I hope to do the same very soon!

Leave a Comment

