Coloring: Fantastical Fern

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern full

“Fantastical Fern” – Ink design by Johanna Basford in Secret Garden, colored by me and John.

That’s right folks, my obsession with adult coloring continues.  Truth be told, I’m a little afraid of starting to sew again after hurting my back a few weeks ago, so I’ve decided to just take it easy for the time being.  I can still feel twinges of pain when I move in certain ways, so apparently the back is a fickle and slow-healing beast.  Ok back, you win, coloring it is for now.

Back issues aside though, I’m really into this coloring thing.  🙂

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern in progress 1

I wanted to do something green for my next coloring page, after all the reds and oranges in Garden of Fire and blues and purples in Enchanted Evening (yes, the flowery names continue…).  I found a page with all leaves (no flowers) and set to work with my Prismacolor pencils.  This page also involved lots of warm beverages and heavy sweaters since it was seriously chilly this weekend.  Brrrr!!

A few in-progress shots of the page coming together:

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern in progress 2 Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern in progress 3

Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern fullAnd the finished page!  I debated coloring in the background but ultimately decided to leave it as is.
Johanna Basford Secret Garden - Fantastical Fern detail

Interestingly, the open spaces on this page were quite a bit smaller and narrower than on previous pages I’ve colored, so I actually had to be really careful with this one.  Despite my efforts to be precise and keep my pencil tips as sharp as possible (hard to do without breaking them!), there is some coloring outside the lines going on here.  Do I feel guilty?  Maybe.  But after all, it’s an adult coloring book.  I’m pretty sure the point is not to feel guilty.  🙂

I sincerely hope any of you experiencing the deep freeze this weekend stayed warm and comfortable.  And to those of you in the southern hemisphere experiencing gorgeous warm weather right now, consider me jealous!  Have a wonderful week, everyone!

12 thoughts on “Coloring: Fantastical Fern

  1. The colored page looks gorgeous! And green is my favorite color so ❤ especially loving the shades. It's great that it's something you enjoy doing together.

    • Thanks Maemi, I love all the greens too! And yes, it’s a surprisingly fun activity to do with another person. Most of the coloring is done by me, but John will swing by every so often and color a few flowers. It’s fun to see the different color combinations that the other person chooses.

  2. This is amazing! My coloring books arrived last Friday and I’ve colored one image so far. I’m going to have to resist the urge to just copy all of your great color schemes!

    • Thanks Sarah! I’m having fun learning how to shade and blend. There are so many interesting techniques to try… not to mention delving into other types of media (pastels, paints, etc)…. 🙂

  3. Lovely! Glad to hear you’re getting better. And don’t you dare feel anything negative about not sewing if you don’t feel like it, it’s your hobby and if you’re getting enjoyment from something else at the moment then that’s great! You’ll come back to the sewing when you feel ready, in the meantime please keep sharing your colouring as it’s beautiful

    • Thanks Rachel! No guilt here (well, not much anyway), just enjoying a new hobby and letting my temperamental muscles heal. Sometimes it’s fun to just take a break and try something new!

Leave a Comment

