Coloring: Garden of Fire

Secret Garden Johanna Basford - Garden of Fire by Allspice Abounds

“Garden of Fire” — Ink design by Johanna Basford in Secret Garden, colored by me and John (my partner).

This project took up my entire weekend, but I love the end result!  I have to give credit where credit’s due: John chose this page and came up with the idea of using reds and oranges.  I have to admit I was skeptical at first, but the color palette grew on me with each new flower that we colored.  In the end, I think it was quite a brilliant idea.  🙂

This page was colored with Prismacolor Premier colored pencils, a recent purchase from my local art supply store.  These pencils produce such rich, beautiful color.  They’re not cheap, but the quality is wonderful.

Secret Garden Johanna Basford - Garden of Fire by Allspice Abounds - partialHere you can get an idea of what the page looked like originally.  If you Google images for Secret Garden, you’ll find that this circular floral design is one of the more popular pages, and I can see why!  The densely packed flowers are a great landscape for playing with color.

I left these images larger than usual so you can zoom in if you’d like.  My coloring looks better from far away than close up, so don’t expect perfection.  🙂

Oh, and how do you like the name “Garden of Fire?”  (Yes, I’m naming my coloring pages now.  Yes, I’m obsessed.)

Hope you all had a good weekend!  My hand needs a rest after all this coloring.  🙂

12 thoughts on “Coloring: Garden of Fire

  1. So pretty! John did a great job with the color scheme. We just got a new box of 64 crayolas and I colored Winnie the Pooh. Not anywhere near as impressive as this but there is something so therapeutic about coloring!

  2. Well, you’ve convinced me! I just ordered this book and one called “Lost Ocean” by the same illustrator. I was was thinking of getting one at Joann’s on my next visit, but I think these will be of much higher quality than what I’ve seen in my local store. I can’t wait for them to get here!

    • Yay!!! Enjoy!! 🙂 Apparently Johanna Basford is the queen of adult coloring books. Her designs are so complex, intricate, and even sophisticated. I think she has 3 books (that I know of): Secret Garden, Lost Ocean, and Enchanted Forest. Let me know how you like them!

  3. Oh I used to color with my kids all the time. I found a collection of adult-ish design books and we just loved them! Great activity for shared time, or for solitary time. Very relaxing.
    I love the color scheme you and John have used….the bit of pink really stands out against the oranges and yellows.

    • Thanks Jen! This was a fun page to color, and I’m glad you used to enjoy it as well. You’re right – it’s very relaxing, especially after a long week at work.

Leave a Comment

