Maurits scarf in progress

Maurits scarf in progress 1 - with yarn

Today I have another in-progress project to share: the Maurits scarf (with my Ravelry notes) by Andrea Rangel for Brooklyn Tweed.  This scarf is a colorwork infinity loop with a bold geometric pattern.  I really love the design and was drawn to this pattern as soon as I saw it.  I always enjoy colorwork knitting projects.  Even though they’re time-consuming, the finished projects always look so intricate and interesting.

Maurits scarf in progress 1 - pattern photo

Choosing the colors for this scarf was an interesting experience.  I debated between using two bold colors or one bold color mixed with a neutral (as in the pattern photo above).  I had asked John to drive me to Gather Here to pick up the yarn, but we encountered the worst rush-hour traffic along the way and were exhausted by the time we got there.  As a result, I promised him I wouldn’t be more than 10 minutes in the shop.  Listen people, 10 minutes is not enough time to pick out colors for a knitting project!  What was I thinking??  The blue and yellow combination was a total rush decision, but I’m happy with it in the end.  Next time I’ll walk to the store and take my time though.Maurits scarf in progress 1 - stitches on needle

The yarn is Cascade 220 fingering, nothing fancy.  I picked up 2 hanks of each color at $5/hank, for a total of $20.  The pattern was $7, so overall this project cost me only $27.  Not bad!  I really enjoy the zen process of knitting, but my biggest complaint is how unbelievably expensive yarn can be.  As a small project with a workhorse yarn, this scarf is something I can justify purchasing on my crafty budget.

I’m using a US 4 (3.5 mm), 16-inch circular needle, which is *just* long enough for this scarf without needing to use double-pointed needles.  With a fingering weight yarn, the resulting knitted fabric is actually quite loose.  I suspect the pattern calls for this because the scarf is circular, so there are two layers to wrap around your neck.  A thicker fabric might be overwhelming!
Maurits scarf in progress 1 - interior view with floats

As with all colorwork projects, I’m trying to keep my floats nice and neat on the inside.  This is more to satisfy my perfectionist tendencies than for any functional reason.  🙂  As the pattern recommends, I’m holding the blue yarn as dominant and the yellow as background.  FYI, I knit with both colors in one hand; it’s just what feels comfortable for me.

The little bit of pink yarn you can see in the photo above is from the provisional cast on.  Once the scarf is long enough, the beginning and end are grafted together.  I’ve grafted plenty of projects in my day, but this process still scares the crap out of me!  It’s just not intuitive to me.
Maurits scarf in progress 1 - side view

At my current pace, it will likely be next winter before this scarf is ready to wear, but whatever!  Knitting is a hobby I pick up almost entirely for its relaxing qualities, and I’m in no particular rush to finish this project.  I also really enjoy knitting in the fall, as I know many of you do as well.  BTW, I went to Rhinebeck this year and had a wonderful time – such a great fall tradition.  There’s just something about the combination of yarn, a crisp fall day, and a steaming cup of apple cider that is impossible to resist.

Have you been knitting anything lately?  Do you use one hand or two for two-color projects?

14 thoughts on “Maurits scarf in progress

  1. No knitting going on around here, I gave up on that long ago. Love the design of this scarf though, can imagine that it’s a lot of fun to see it grow as you make progress.

    • Thanks Emmely! It’s definitely a fun project, and I find myself stepping back to see how the design is progressing every few rows. I gave up knitting for a few years but seem to be coming back to it now. We’ll see how long it lasts!

    • Thanks Rebecca! I just saw your sweater pop up in my feed and will have to check it out. 🙂 Although my true passion is sewing, I definitely find knitting to be much more relaxing.

  2. I am very very bad at knitting and every autumn I see lot of beautiful knit projects and have a moment of wondering whether I should make an effort and try again! I love the intricate pattern and the colours – its good to have a long term project sometimes.

    Louise

    • Thanks Louise. Knitting is definitely a much slower process than sewing, but I find it really relaxing when all I want to do is sit on the couch. If you have any interest in it, I’d say it’s worth learning! Plus you will generate lots of hats and scarves for the winter. 🙂

Leave a Comment

