Wrapping up my vacation

Hello sewing friends!  Long time, no post!  I’ve been off from work for the past few weeks enjoying a much-needed post-PhD vacation.  While I had intended to sew up a storm during my time off, I wound up taking an unplanned break from sewing and blogging.  I didn’t even realize I needed it!  The vacation turned out to be a welcome break from many aspects of my everyday life, and I’ve been very much enjoying just loafing around, doing some shopping, catching up on old tv shows, and enjoying the absolutely beautiful fall weather that has finally (!!) arrived here in Boston.  My vacation was largely unproductive, but who cares!  It’s a vacation, after all.  I can go back to being productive when I go back to work next week.  🙂

Maggie napping upside down

I found Maggie fast asleep in this position; she woke up when I took the picture!

With that said, I wanted to check in and share a little bit of what I’ve been up to.

Spain

First of all, John and I just returned from an absolutely fantastic trip to Spain.  I’ll share more about this once we upload and sort through all our photos, but suffice it to say that Spain is an absolutely beautiful country with a rich and passionate culture, well worth a visit.  I took many years of Spanish in college and enjoyed finally putting them to good use.  We ate, we drank, and we made about a million wrong turns while driving through the crowded cities and rolling countryside.  It was quite an adventure.  🙂

Sewing

I’m almost finished with my flannel version of the Carolyn pajama pants, but this project has been on hold for most of my time off.  I’m still excited about it, but I just needed a break!  I’ll be sure to post the PJs whenever I get around to finishing them.  For now, I’ve been wearing the muslin version that I shared in my video a few weeks ago, and in fact, I’m wearing them right now.  I love them!

Reading

I recently read The Dressmaker (Amazon link) by Rosalie Ham, a delightful novel about a couture dressmaker who travels back to her hometown in 1950s Australia and the wacky adventures that ensue.  I vaguely remember reading a review of this book on someone’s blog a while back (was it you, Karen?) and thought it would be a good book for the plane ride to Spain, and it was!  I’d recommend checking it out if you enjoy reading about sewing.  It’s pretty light reading and a fun story to follow along with.

Knitting

Not surprisingly, the arrival of the fall weather has reinvigorated my desire to knit.  I’ve been working on the Maurits scarf (Ravelry link) by Andrea Rangel for Brooklyn Tweed, a two-color infinity scarf with an interesting geometric pattern.  I started this project as another way to keep myself busy on the plane, but it’s proving to be a pretty slow project that will probably last a long time.  No complaints here though, it’s a fun knit!  I’m knitting my version in golden yellow and royal blue.  Photos to come once I’m farther along.

Rhinebeck

And speaking of knitting, I’ll be making my glorious return to the New York State Sheep and Wool Festival this year in Rhinebeck, NY.  The festival is next weekend, October 17-18, 2015.  I used to go every year when I lived just north of NYC, but I haven’t been since I moved to Boston.  I’m so excited to go back!  If you’ve never been before, it’s held on a huge fairground with tons of fresh-off-the-farm yarn, livestock, delicious food, and people decked out in their handknit garments.  It’s a fun way to spend a crisp fall day.  If you’re going and want to say hi, be sure to drop me a line!

I hope you’ve all been well and have been enjoying the change of seasons, whether you’ve been welcoming spring or fall.  I expect to return to posting on a more regular schedule now that I’ll be back to work and my normal routines.  Until then, happy sewing.  🙂

20 thoughts on “Wrapping up my vacation

  1. Love Spain too, I went after my PhD (chem) too, using my Spanish diploma (wow, 12 years ago) – I’ve been wanting to go back ever since! I enjoyed the dressmaker too. The film starring Kate winslet is due to release in Austrslia this month, I’ve organised a few sewing and book club friends to get together to see it! Best wishes for the new job.

    • That sounds like such a fun idea! I’m really curious to see how the movie compares with the book now. Thanks for the good wishes, and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed Spain as well! How funny that we both went there after graduating. There was no way I could see the whole country in just a week, so I really want to go back and see everything I missed. 🙂

  2. It’s funny, I find that I’m the most productive sewing-wise when I’m busy in other aspects of life. It’s the lazy days/weeks that turn me into a total sloth! Glad you enjoyed your vacation, no doubt you needed the rest!

  3. Gosh, I can’t believe that your vacation is almost over! How fun that you got to take a trip to Spain! I hope you are feeling nice and rested after your time off– hopefully starting work won’t be too much of a shock after your break.

    • Thanks Teri! The time off has been great, but I’m definitely ready to get back to work and am actually really excited about my new job. I got really lucky in getting this position and intend to make the most of it! 🙂

  4. Looking forward to reading more about your trip to Spain. I am curious to see what places you visited! What are you upcoming sewing projects?

    • Thanks Vaire! We made quite a few stops between Madrid and the northern coast. I’m still sorting through the photos but will share more once I finish. I haven’t been sewing much lately, but I’m currently working on a quilting project inspired by my trip. Something different for a change. 🙂

  5. Welcome back! And I’m glad you enjoyed the break! I also took about a month between my PhD and postdoc and it really was a good ideas as I was nice and fresh when I started in my new lab! I rushed from postdoc to job without having a chance to take a break and a year later, I feel like I am still exhausted from my postdoc! Anyway, I’m looking forward to hearing about your new science and sewing related adventures! Also extremely jealous of your trip to Rhinebeck! I have never gone as I never think about it in time. I have instead been looking for organized day trips from Boston without much luck (it really was wishful thinking!). Hopefully I’ll get my act together to plan for this in 2016! Have a great time and I’ll visit vicariously this year through blog photos!

    • Thanks Sara! The break has been wonderful, and who knows if I’ll get to take another one before my next job, so I’m glad I took the time now. I’m really excited about my new lab – it’s a great fit for me – so hopefully it’ll be fun! I take a lot of day trips out of Boston during the summer, nothing organized, just my boyfriend and I driving somewhere. There are a ton of great parks to visit, little towns along the coast and in NH, Maine, etc. I have to get out of the city occasionally or I’ll go crazy!

    • Thanks Molly! It was a great vacation and a fun way to celebrate my job transition. I’m so thankful we went because things are crazy now that I’m back at work!

Leave a Comment

