Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - finished

Damn right folks, I made another glorious pair of Sarrouel Trousers (aka #diapershorts), and I freaking love them!  I don’t know what it is about this crazy style, but I am totally enamored with these shorts.  They’re weird, they’re unflattering, but they’re so much fun to sew and wear.  I think the reason I love them so much is **because** they’re so unusual and non-traditional.  I spend so much of the year bundled up in boring old jeans and layers upon layers of sweaters that I find it really fun and exciting to wear something different for a change.

And yes, in case you’re wondering, I’ve already worn these out and about on the streets of Boston and for a full day of work at the university… and no one said a thing.  Really folks, no one cares what you’re wearing, so wear whatever makes you happy!  My floral rayon pair has become my favorite summer garment and probably my favorite thing I’ve sewn all year, and I wear them with pride on a regular basis.  I’m so glad I now have another crazy pair to add to the rotation.  🙂

Sarrouel Trousers model photo Sarrouel Trousers line drawings

Project Stats:

Pattern: Sarrouel Trousers (No. 8) from She Wears the Pants by Yuko Takada.  The pattern is a dropped crotch (harem-style) short with a fly front, slash pockets, and tucks at the hem.

Fabric: Big Love in Primary by Anna Maria Horner, 100% cotton.  I wanted a big, bold plaid or stripe to show off the combination of bias and straight-grain pieces in this pattern.  Not only does this fabric fit the bill, but it also falls nicely into my color palette and will match with a lot of my existing tops.  I would describe the fabric as similar to a shirting – lighter than quilting cotton but not quite a voile.  The drape isn’t great, but I wanted a slightly stiffer fabric to really show off the “poofy diaper butt” look of these shorts.  I know, I’m crazy, but I love it!

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - front

Modifications: I made a size L again (the largest size), but since my floral pair was sitting *just* a bit too low on my hips for my taste, I took a total of 1/2 inch out of the waistband for this pair.  To do this, I shaved 1/8 inch off the side seams on the front and back pattern pieces (so 1/4 inch total at each side seam) and took 1/4 inch out of the waistband at each side seam notch.  Last time I had added 1.5 inches to the hem of each leg, and although I kept that for this pair, I modified the tucks at the hem a bit (see below).

Level of crafty satisfaction: You already know I love these shorts.  LOVE THEM!!

See elsewhere: Apparently I am still the only sewist crazy enough to sew these shorts and post them on the internet.  A Google search of “Sarrouel Trousers She Wears the Pants” turns up nothing but my pretty face.  LOL.  Someone please make these!

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - right side Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - left side

I really like how the plaid gets tossed around in all sorts of directions as the bias and straight-grain pieces intersect.  I mean, if you’re going to wear such a weird pair of shorts, and in such bright colors, you might as well throw in some crazy plaid action!

As for the back view…

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - backYes, there’s room for a tail.  And no, I don’t have any tail-like appendage in that area to fill out the excess fabric.  It’s weird.  I know.  Moving right along…  🙂
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - back showing drape

I do think the back view looks better in real life as the shorts are moving with the wearer.  And although the dropped crotch look may not be for everyone, it’s pretty darn comfortable to wear!  The only fitted part of this garment is the waistband, and the rest of the shorts just hang off the waist.  With a 100% cotton, lightweight fabric, they’re a dream to wear on hot, sticky summer days.

Construction Notes

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - front on table Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - back on tableI played around with print placement quite a bit during the cutting phase of this project.  I didn’t want the print to line up too well, since I was trying to embrace the chaos of this pattern+fabric combination, but I did want to try to achieve a pleasing arrangement.  I decided to pattern match the center front seam (where the fly is inserted) and center the print on the waistband, but for the rest of the pieces, I just tried to make sure I’d get some good contrast between bright stripes on the straight-grain and bias.
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - cutting layout 1

I wound up focusing on the white stripes and decided to cut everything on the cross-grain so that the white would run vertically up and down the shorts, particularly on the straight-cut legs.  I purchased 2.5 yards of this 45-inch wide fabric and used it all up!  Granted, my pattern placement was pretty inefficient due to print placement, but 2.5 yards isn’t all that much for one project anyway.

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - cutting layout 2

Since I already had a matching zipper, thread, and a button, the total cost of this project wasn’t bad at all.  In fact, since I used a gift card to purchase the fabric, I only spent $12 on these shorts!  Can you imagine finding a garment like this in a store for only $12, or let alone finding it at all?  Ah, the many joys of sewing.  🙂

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - partially assembled

Some detail shots:
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - fly detail

The fly and button loop came out nicely, despite the fact that I broke 3 needles in a row while topstitching the fly.  Ouch!  I didn’t realize that I kept hitting the metal zipper stop and just kept replacing the needle over and over and yelling at my machine, LOL.  I applied strips of fusible interfacing to either side of the fly opening before inserting the zipper to stabilize the seams – something I do for every zipper insertion now.  The button loop is simply folded and topstitched.
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - pocket detail

I love how the top of the pockets are white and the pocket backing is blue – such a nice contrast.  And yes, I planned that out in advance.  🙂

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - hem detail

Here’s where I modified the tucks at the back of hem a bit.  The pattern calls for 3 tucks that are topstitched in place along one side.  I changed this to only 2 tucks to give myself a little more room in the hem, and I topstitched them on both sides for a little more stability, forming a little box with my stitching.  I’m pretty pleased with the effect.  The hem itself is simply serged and folded up once, then topstitched in place.
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - interiorA view of the innards – so much plaid!  The main construction seams are sewn with a regular straight stitch and finished with the serger.  Nothing fancy.
Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - on table with book

Final Thoughts

Are these shorts ridiculous?  Yes.  Do I love them?  HELL YES.

Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous - with hands in pockets

This wraps up my summer sewing for the year.  Might as well end with a bang.  🙂

As always, honest opinions please!

33 thoughts on “Sarrouel Trousers in Loominous

  1. My honest opinion? Not my thing. But I totally love that they make you so happy! I am trying to embrace my weirdness and wear what I like, and not worry about what other people think. And you’re doing that, so I say GO YOU!

    • Haha, thanks! I find it really liberating that probably hundreds (if not more) people on the city streets have seen me wearing these shorts, and absolutely no one cares. Probably no one even notices! It just goes to show that these hangups are all in our own heads. Even if people have comments that they’re keeping to themselves, who cares? Let them think whatever they want. I say embrace your weirdness and just go for it. Life is too short to worry about what other people think!

  2. See, my issue with dropped crotch is thigh chaffing! It’s like the only reason I wear pants, which, granted, isn’t super often. These are the anti-Chris, pants and still thigh chaffing.
    Yet, you pull them off. It could be that you’re clearly ecstatically happy whisk wearing them. It’s hard to miss 🙂 So for you they’re happy and comfy, clearly a win-win.
    Strangely, from the side it’s the most flattering, the diaper butt or excess crotch don’t seem to stick out much!

      • Surprisingly, the thigh chafing in these shorts isn’t too bad. Less than wearing a skirt, but still more than regular shorts/pants. All the excess fabric in the middle kind of bunches up and offers some protection, if that makes any sense! Interestingly, thigh-chafing aside, I think my boyfriend would agree that these shorts are the anti-Christ… he absolutely hates them, LOL!!

  3. Admittedly, I am shocked that no one has stopped to ask you about these shorts, or mentioned them in any way! With as humid and muggy as it’s been here lately, I can definitely see the appeal… Love that fabric!

    • Haha, thanks Lisa! They really are super comfortable to wear in such hot and sticky weather, especially in the lightweight cotton. I’m a little surprised too that no one seems to care about the strange style, but it’s also really liberating. Apparently people have better things to worry about than my clothing choices, LOL!

  4. This construction looks enticing, I can see why you like sewing these shorts. I think I prefer the floral pair, but I’m 100% biased: love florals, don’t like plaid. :-p I do like the poofier look, but I think I prefer the snugger hem. Can’t visualize how they work together….that being said, this pair is more versatile and stylish than the other pair!

    • Thanks for the interesting comments, Ebi! The two pairs are definitely quite different due to the fabric drape and print. If I’m being honest, I do think the floral pair is my favorite, but I really like the plaid version too. It kind of feels like I’m wearing a man’s shirt around my waist – kind of 90s grunge (my favorite fashion era)! Maybe I should wear the plaid shorts with a Nirvana band shirt. 🙂

  5. This plaid pair seems rather architectural to me. (I like architectural) The floral disguises some of the weirdness of the pattern, whereas you see it all with these. Can’t help you out with making a pair – one must be long and lean to wear them well, I believe, not short and squat. But you look adorable and happy! So for that reason, I love them!

    • Haha, thanks Jen! That’s exactly why I wanted to make a second pair of these shorts in a bold stripe or plaid, to really show off the strange cut. I like architectural clothing too – I much prefer structured garments (love wearing blazers) than drapey ones (like knit dresses). I can’t really visualize how this style would look on different body types… which is why I wish someone else would make them, LOL. 🙂

  6. These look fab! I really love this plaid and the construction looks great! These are not my style but I totally agree we should all wear whatever we want. I know I do! 🙂

  7. Love the plaid – I really like your description of them being like a shirt around your waist – they do have that vibe and I like the way the stripes clash. Its really cool that you have made something unique that you love this much!

    Louise

  8. now that i’ve seen this pair too I can say i’m not that much into these pants, they deffenetely look better than the first one and since you enjoy so much wearing them that’s all that matters.

    • Haha, thanks Aida. I find it fascinating how everyone’s reaction to this pattern is so different. Just goes to show that we all have our own unique style. That diversity is what makes sewing blogs so interesting, I think!

  9. I love your sartorial risk-taking. These are totally not my style BUT I will say that my manager at work is insanely stylish and has an enormous collection of drop-crotch pants. They speak to the few and the proud! If it were me wearing them, I think I’d go for the rayon drape of your floral version, but that plaid is delicious and even though I’d seen the pattern art before I just now noticed the cool leg seam.

    Maybe I’ll follow your lead and figure out what unorthodox garment is speaking to me!

    • Haha, do it!! 🙂 I definitely do *not* claim to be stylish, but it’s interesting to know that fashion-forward people are wearing styles like this. The leg seam is indeed really interesting and takes a little finesse to sew. This is my 3rd attempt (including the original muslin), and I get a slightly flatter/neater 3-way intersection each time.

  10. I’m with Jen as in I’m not long and lean either so don’t think they’re for me, however, if anyone said to me a few months ago that I’d be seen in public in jumpsuits and culottes I’d never believe them! So you never know. They remind me of what the locals wore in Morocco when we holidayed there when I was 15. They were full length and tapered at the ankle. My dad called them ‘7 day shitties’ as he thought they could leave them on for a week! Have you thought about making some in a washed silk type of fabric? I bet they could look quite dressy 😀

    • HAHAHAHA!!! Oh my gosh, I am always going to think of that analogy when I wear these shorts now! You looked great in your recent jumpsuits and culottes, so as you said, you never know what styles will work for you. I think washed silk would be beautiful paired with this pattern, but silk doesn’t really fit into my lifestyle. Maybe one day if I ever get a fancy office job again. 🙂

  11. I’m going to blame this crazy trouser making spree on the timing. Thesis finishing obviously distorts everyone’s mind… 😉

    They are the definition of fugly, but I am delighted that you enjoy wearing them! I agree with you: if YOU like it, wear it! Nobody really cares what others wear and if they do… honestly, they do have a problem.

    On a side note, what do you wear them with? Mainly t-shirts and sandals?

    • Haha! Yes, maybe all the stress in my life right now is fueling odd sewing choices. 🙂 I typically wear sleeveless tops and sandals with them, simply because that’s pretty much what I wear all summer anyway. Nothing fancy!

  12. I really enjoy the way you’ve laid out the plaid on this pair! You’ve convinced me to request this book from my library to check the pattern (and the rest of the book) out in person!

    • Thanks Shannon, and how exciting that you’re interested in this book! The patterns are a little unusual, but well drafted and fun to sew, I think. If you make these shorts, please please send me a photo! 🙂

Leave a Comment

