Five weeks and counting…

Garden 1

As the days get hotter and stickier, preparations for my thesis defense become more and more frantic.  Multiple daily showers are met with multiple daily freak outs.  I’ve given up wearing my nice handmade clothing because it instantly gets soaked with sweat as soon as I walk out the door, and who’s going to see my outfit when I’m holed up in my office all day anyway?

Garden 2

I’m in full production mode, which consists of writing as many pages as possible each day and sticking to a schedule in which there is NO room for any more unexpected disasters… you know, the kind that have plagued my PhD since day one.

Garden 3

It’s a very exciting feeling to see five years of work finally come together, to get closer and closer to achieving a lifelong dream, and to know that I have a fun new adventure waiting for me on the other side.  I just have to stick to the schedule and write, write, write.  No summer vacation for me this year… just plenty of hours chained to my computer and covered in sweat.  🙂

Garden 4This PhD has been a very interesting journey, simultaneously filled with doubt and frustration, excitement and amazement.  I think the dominant feeling these days is anticipation.  Someone once told me that in order to survive a PhD, you have to really want it.  Well folks, I WANT IT.  This degree is so close, I can taste it!

Five weeks to go.  Just have to keep writing…

In the meantime, I took a few minutes to enjoy the beautiful summer evening tonight.  Let the record show that these plants are still alive despite my constant presence and notorious kill record.  🙂

20 thoughts on “Five weeks and counting…

  1. If it’s really hot I type in just my underwear … after all, no one can see you. Keep on keeping on as the end is in sight. What an amazing achievement when you’ve finished and hey, think how much spare time you’ll have for sewing! 😉

    • Oh my gosh, T, this has definitely been on my mind A LOT lately! There is going to be a storm of sewing when this is all over – I can’t wait. If I didn’t have an officemate, typing in my underwear would be a great option, LOL. 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I’m excited too! It’s quite unbelievable that I’m nearing the end after all the many bumps and hurdles encountered along the way. I think surviving those bumps is the whole point of the PhD though. 🙂

    • I assume everything will be electronic, although to be honest, I haven’t even looked at the guidelines yet! Lots to do before I get to that point. Thanks for the encouragement and support! 🙂

Leave a Comment

