Sarrouel Trousers muslin from “She Wears the Pants”

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - finished

I picked up She Wears the Pants, a Japanese sewing book by Yuko Takada, on an impulse while running to catch a train last week.  Previous Japanese sewing books that I’ve seen have turned me off with super boxy styles and titles like Sweet Dress Book.  When was the last time I wore a sweet dress?  This one, however, really caught my eye.  The original title translates to “She Has a Mannish Style,” which I think suits me perfectly.  The designs are androgynous but not tent-like (for the most part), with some really interesting details and challenging techniques.  I was intrigued!

Sarrouel Trousers model photo

After pouring through the pages in deep thought, I finally settled on the Sarrouel Trousers for my first project.  Full disclosure: The first time I saw these shorts, I wrote them off as completely unwearable and absolutely ridiculous.  Slowly but surely, however, this pattern grew on me, and I found myself ravenously curious about how this bias-cut puzzle fit together and intrigued by the idea of wearing such an edgy garment out on the streets of Boston.  John instantly declared them to be “horrible,” which was basically throwing down the gauntlet as a challenge for me to prove him wrong.  🙂

Sarrouel Trousers line drawings

Armed with a 3-day weekend and some 10-year-old poly/cotton plaid that I recently re-discovered during my apartment move, I set out to make a muslin of these adult diaper-like shorts.  I usually refer to this extreme dropped-crotch style as “harem pants,” but apparently “sarouel trousers” (with one r, not two as in the pattern name) is another common name.  Whatever you call them, there’s plenty of room for your crotch to breathe in these pants, LOL!

I wasn’t sure how the sizing would work out, especially since measuring the flat pattern proved to be a challenge since I couldn’t even identify all the different components of the waistline, so I just made a straight size L (the largest size) with no alterations.

And you know what?  I kind of like them!

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - front 1 Sarrouel Trousers muslin - back Sarrouel Trousers muslin - side

I think you really have to embrace the diaper-butt look of this garment to really pull it off.  You know, as if you’re doing it on purpose.  As if you’re trying to be urban and edgy in this nontraditional silhouette, as opposed to walking around in pants that are 5 sizes too big on you.  The jury is out as to whether I’d actually feel comfortable wearing these shorts out in public, but I’m weirdly fascinated and obsessed with them!

Friends, what do you think?  Should I make a real garment from this pattern??

While you’re pondering whether or not I’ve truly lost my mind…

Thoughts on working with this pattern book:

  • This is my first time using a Japanese pattern book, and I really like it.  I find many of the designs to be interesting and edgy, not your standard wardrobe basics.  The details are well thought out, and some of the patterns (like the jackets) are actually quite complicated.  For $16, which I’ve paid for a single indie pattern, I’d say this was a good investment in a set of high quality patterns.
  • Be prepared to embark on a treasure hunt for your pattern pieces in the jumbled mess of overlapping outlines on the pattern sheets.  I found it particularly difficult to find notches, grainlines, and other pattern markings, especially those that are not located along the pattern edge.  Thankfully everything is labeled – you just have to keep your eyes peeled.

She Wears the Pants - pattern sheet

  • The patterns do not include seam allowances.  UGH.  Honestly, it was not difficult to add them myself, but it was time consuming.  I really don’t understand why the designer couldn’t have included them in the first place!  The fabric layouts do show you specifically how much SA to add to each piece, but I don’t see a good reason for making the user do this.

Thoughts on the Sarrouel Trousers pattern:

Fabric:

  • I can’t decide if this pattern would work better in a slinky fabric with a lot of drape (like a rayon challis) or a stiffer fabric with a solid hand (like a bottom-weight cotton or light denim).  I’d be curious to try both!
  • I think a large-scale plaid or stripe would be ideal for this pattern to show off the contrast between bias-cut pieces and straight-grain pieces.  The bolder and more directional the print, the better.

Instructions:

  • I found the pocket instructions to be absolutely bizarre and to result in an unprofessional finish.  The instructions leave you with two serged edges just inside the pocket opening, as opposed to neatly enclosing all the raw edges on the interior of the garment.  Even weirder, the instructions include a French seam on the bottom of the pocket bag, which no one will see, but leave raw/serged edges in plain view!  I’ve sewed plenty of slash pockets with no problem, so I’m not sure why the instructions are so peculiar on this pattern.  I’m planning to alter my pattern pieces to avoid the exposed serged edges if I make these shorts again.

Sarrouel Trousers - pocket instructions

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - unfinished pocket

There are two raw edges inside this pocket – unacceptable!

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - finished pocket

For the second pocket, I enclosed all raw edges and am much happier with the result.

  • The instructions for installing the fly zipper were new to me and seemed to be very “efficient,” meaning not very hand-holdy.  I think there were a total of 3 lines of stitching in the entire fly insertion, which was time-saving but a little scary!  I’d recommend trying this method as a learning experience, but take a deep breath beforehand.  🙂
  • I took Carolyn’s advice and cut the fly extension as one piece with the left front of the shorts.  Just overlap the seam lines on your pattern pieces and cut the fabric as one.  This reduces bulk at the fly opening and, in my opinion, looks and wears better over time.
  • The pattern instructs you to sew the short ends of the waistband to the waistband facing *before* attaching the waistband to the shorts.  I would not recommend doing this, as all other waistbands I’ve sewn have you sew the short ends *after* the waistband is already attached.  Doing it afterward encloses the seam allowances nicely inside.  Like the pocket instructions, I found this to be perplexing as I feel it’s a solved problem.

Construction:

  • These shorts include bias edges all over the place.  I’d recommend staystitching every edge of the main pattern pieces, except those that are plain rectangles.  Skip this step at your own peril!
  • Once I saw how all the bias-cut pieces fit together, I was surprised that the front and back of the shorts are actually identical before you sew the inseam.  Weird!  The inseam winds up being a LONG horizontal seam from leg to leg.
Sarrouel Trousers muslin - front during construction

Front view, before sewing inseam

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - back during construction

Back view

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - spread out on table

Check out that crazy long horizontal inseam!

  • I could have used a few more notches when aligning the bottom of the waistband with the top of the shorts.  I figured it out in the end, but it’s worth noting that notches seemed to be missing in places where I would have expected them.
  • The button loop (instead of a buttonhole) is a nice detail and something you don’t see in many patterns.  I skipped it for my muslin (along with the belt carriers), but I’d definitely include it in a finished garment.

Fit:

  • As other bloggers have noted, the sizing in this book is quite small.  I made the largest size (L), which wound up being a pretty good fit.  The only area to fit on this pattern is the waist, and it is definitely on the low-slung end of the spectrum on me.  I like my pants to sit low, so this worked out perfectly.  I would agree with other bloggers that there is more ease in these patterns than you might think, so don’t be afraid to try them if your measurements are bit outside the upper range.  (For reference, the size L calls for a 27.5 inch waist and 38 5/8 inch hips, and my measurements are 29 and 37, respectively.)
  • There are 3 tucks along the hem of each leg.  While I like the tucks as an interesting designer detail, I found the leg openings to be *just* a bit too tight after sewing the tucks, especially when sitting down.  I think I’ll release one tuck on each leg to give myself a little more wearing ease.

Final Thoughts

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - with pattern book

I haven’t seen any other Sarrouel Trousers pop up on the web yet, but I’m dying to hear what other people think of this pattern!

Sarrouel Trousers muslin - front 2

Are these shorts cool or just plain ridiculous?  Would YOU wear them out in public??Sarrouel Trousers muslin - dropped crotchWhat would you store in this built-in crotch pouch?  Twigs and berries???  🙂

And most importantly, does this muslin warrant a real garment in fashion fabric???  Honest opinions, please!

67 thoughts on “Sarrouel Trousers muslin from “She Wears the Pants”

  1. I will never consider making this pattern myself but I enjoyed tremendously your description! I totally love the way you write!

  2. I applaud your adventure and curiosity, and yet, no. Instead of an apron, which would be easier to sew, maybe the pouch was meant to hold beans after de-stringing them or potatoes after peeling. Or maybe peas…or shucked corn…or…. Ultimately, no.

    • Hahaha!! I’d better get moving on all my veggie harvesting, huh? 🙂 Thanks for your honesty. I dig these shorts as an experiment but haven’t convinced myself to wear a real version outside yet.

  3. Interesting! I have to agree with Irene’s comment that I wouldn’t wear them myself, but I really enjoyed your post and laughed when you said your friend thought they were horrible. So, does “Sarrouel” actually mean “Man Repeller”?

    All that said, I think they look pretty cool on you! Hope you get a chance to write a post describing what it’s like to wear them in public. Maybe it’s not big deal…
    Chris

    • Haha, yes, I do think the original translation must be “man repeller!” John, my boyfriend, thinks these shorts are atrocious and cannot understand why I keep parading around the house in them. 🙂 If I decide to bite the bullet and make a real pair for public viewing, I’ll be sure to share my experience. I guarantee I would get a few “looks” from people on the street. Probably a few confused comments too!

  4. I think it’s worth a try in a drapey fabric, like a challis, but your point about emphasizing the bias via a large, directional print is a good one. That being said, you’re not much of a stasher, so you probably don’t have fashion fabric you can afford to ‘waste’ on a possible wadder!

    On the other hand, it could be a really cool pair of statement shorts for the summer months…Boston has a bad rep for fashion only because few people are willing to take a sartorial chance! (Myself included, hah.)

    • Good point, Ebi! Boston is much less fashion-forward than New York (where I lived previously), and I think the city could stand to witness me in these shorts. 🙂 Then again, I don’t know if I have the balls… although I would certainly have plenty of room for them, LOL!! And you’re right, I would have to buy fabric specifically for these shorts, so I’d have to convince myself that it was a worthy investment ahead of time. The jury is still out…

  5. I join Irene and Chris in thanking you for the thorough and most interesting review. Dropped crotch trousers, of which these are an extreme example, are a personal pet hate of mine, so my vote is no-no I’m afraid.

    • Thanks for your honesty, Vaire! I felt exactly the same way since I first started seeing these pants on the street last year, but somehow having the pattern in my hands changed my mind… at least in terms of an experimental run. I’m quite fascinated with the idea of them, but it remains to be seen whether I would actually wear them in public… or to work, gasp! Can you imagine? The university would probably kick me out. 🙂

  6. I think they are a bit ridiculous, if I’m being honest. I’m not a fan of dropped crotches but I do think the bias makes these interesting. I’d be interested to see a version in a drapey directional print though. I love your review- I’ve been meaning to buy this book myself.

    • Thanks Rebecca! I can’t argue with the shorts being ridiculous, but I haven’t convinced myself that ridiculous is necessarily a bad thing, ha. 🙂 A few people have commented about trying this pattern in a fabric with more drape. I wonder if I could find a plaid rayon or something. As for the book overall, I hope you try it! The rest of the patterns are less “out there” than this one.

  7. When I first opened my reader and saw you wearing these pants, I burst out laughing and thought you looked kind of crazy. (Good feelings, though!) But the more I looked at the pants and scrolled through the page, they kind of grew on me! 😀 They seem weird at first, but I think I really like them! Not like I would ever attempt this pattern, it looks challenging to me, but they look good on you and certainly make a statement.
    The baggy-ness is odd, but in a cool, slouchy urban way. It would look really good in denim, too. Bravo to you for attempting this and making it look good! I really like them!

    • Thanks Abigail! I feel much the same way – the shorts are weird and not something I’m used to, but I’m growing more fascinated with them over time. The sewing was actually not bad at all. The most challenging parts were the slash pockets and fly zipper. If you’ve sewn a denim skirt or pair of pants before, you would be fine.

  8. Oh god. I’m not sure I can think of something to give you the good news bad news sandwich.

    Ok deep breath….good news is that you have good sewing skills, bad news these are a horrific way of showing off those skills, good news is your smile briefly (v briefly) made me think that these shorts were something you could pull it off.

  9. Agree with you, really interesting construction. I loved seeing the shape of those pattern pieces and how they were put together. I’ve never really been into the drop crotch look. I’m not so sure about the shorts length. But I think the pattern would be totally wearable in a slinky, navy or black monochrome, in trouser length. Good on you for having a go though.

    • Thanks Debbie! I know, I was really intrigued to see how all the odd-shaped pieces fit together, and surprised that the front and back wound up being symmetrical. It was a fun project to sew… but it remains to be seen how fun it will be to wear!

  10. Baby, these things are ridiculous and incredibly unflattering for just about everyone. I made two pairs from another Japanese pattern book, “Happy Homemade Sew Chic.” A pair out of hemp, as the book recommended, were utterly unwearable. I made another pair out of a slinky rayon jersey. They are wearable as pajama bottoms.

    • Interesting! I’m glad to hear you tried out a similar pattern. Do you know if this style more popular in Japan than in the US? I think you’re right that the dropped crotch will never be flattering, but I’m still intrigued by it as a fashion statement. Although maybe the statement is “I’ve given up.” 🙂

    • My guess is that these pants are in Japanese pattern books just very simple to make and have a ton of ease so they don’t require much fitting. Think of how much harder it is to make pants with a proper rise, waistband, fly front etc. A coworker from Japan tells me that old-school farmers and peasants wear these types of pants because they’re cheap and utilitarian. I guess someone could make a fashion statement out of that, but eek.

      • Very interesting background, thanks! These shorts were indeed super easy to fit, since all you have to worry about is the waistband. I do think the dropped crotch look is somewhat in fashion though, as I’ve seen them on hip young women around the city lately. Now, I’m not saying that *I’m* a hip young woman who could pull them off, but apparently these people do exist. 🙂

        • Well, Cher wore a pair when she was in Late Night With David Letterman a few weeks ago, so sure. But again, she’s Cher…

  11. Brava, you, Carolyn for trying something completely different to your usual style! I’m not a HUUUUGE fan BUT I do keep scrolling & giving them another look…I think I’m TRYING to like them! Hehe
    A thought: if you DO decide to make another pair, perhaps lengthen them to just cover the knee as per the model photo. Even better, lengthen them to your ankle for an urban style pant. You have the height to be able to carry off slouchy pants stylishly – anyone shorter looks “leg-length-challenged”. Now……go harvest those berries! 🙂

  12. Oh! Meant to say, I’d prefer a trouser version in a plain fabric (with drape) worn with a simple matching top. Add some statement earrings or necklace – chic & edgy without “trying too hard”. Just a thought…

    • Thanks for the styling recommendations, Kathy! I totally agree that the dropped crotch look would be less… jarring?… in a longer length, slinky fabric, and neutral color. BUT there’e something about these crazy plaid shorts that has me very intrigued. You’d really have to OWN it in this style, instead of trying to neutralize it to some extent. If I stick with the shorts, I do think I’ll add a few inches to cover the knee. Stay tuned… 🙂

  13. Oh, that last picture is so funny! I was in high school during the MC Hammer harem pants days and I sewed myself a few pairs of them. They were definitely not as artfully put together as these, though. I do feel curious about these in a longer length made from something with more drape– but not curious enough that I could ever try them. 😉

    • Haha, great story Teri! I’m picturing you wearing your hammer pants in the halls of the high school, LOL. I’d be really curious to try both lengths in a drapey fabric, but I’m still intrigued by a bold plaid. They would definitely be a statement piece… I could probably only wear them once!

  14. Oh man, I just can’t imagine a scenario where these pants would be the thing to wear! Maybe in a dark slinky fabric… maybe! I think I do my pockets in a similar manner, except that I zig zag over the raw edge when attaching the facing to the pocket bag. This helps eliminate bulk if the facing is in a stiffer fabric, but I can’t completely tell if these directions are the same as my method. Anyway, if you do make another pair make sure you share them with us!

    • Interesting! Maybe this method of pocket installation is more popular than I thought… I had just never seen it before. You’re definitely right that it reduces bulk and would be great for a dense fabric, especially one that doesn’t fray. I shared your comment about the shorts with John, and he was in total agreement, LOL. 🙂

  15. Thank you so very much for your review!! I’ve not been tempted by these or by their counterparts in the DrapeDrape series, however I am still scarred by the 80’s. Their time may be coming back though ….. Regardless, I loved your detailed pattern review 😉

    • Thanks, I’m glad you found the review helpful! I couldn’t find any other reviews of this pattern online (at least in a Google search), so I wanted to share my thoughts for anyone else brave enough to try this crazy pattern. All fashion styles eventually come back around, and I’ve definitely seen some harem pants on the city streets as early as last summer!

  16. Fun to see the pants made up. I got stuck on the idea of a drop crotch trouser after seeing so many of them on tourists when we were on our big trip in SE Asia, but the longer I go the more I re-think the idea. (Not that there’s anything wrong with them, just that they’re not really my style. I’d rather just wear a skirt).

    I think the question of should you make a non-muslin version is not whether other people like them but whether you do! I do totally understand gathering opinions from others, but in the end it’s going to boil down to whether you feel hot in the finished pants or not – and that’s your call! They are weird, but my theory on fashion is that if you feel confident in whatever weirdness you’re wearing, you’ll rock it.

    • Thanks Erin, I completely agree! I’m really curious to hear what other people think of this unusual style, but the truth is that I was intrigued enough by this pattern to sew it up and post photos of myself wearing them on the internet. The real test will be whether I’m courageous enough to wear them on the street. To be honest, I’m leaning in that direction! 🙂

  17. I am really glad that you are leaning towards wearing this style out of the house–why not?!? Having seen so many garments made from popular Japanese pattern books all over my blog feed, it is so cool (and refreshing, frankly) to see someone make one of the more adventurous (and potentially difficult to wear) silhouettes from this particular book. Are these pants my style? Nope. But it’s a lot of fun to see people trying new or offbeat things and having fun with it, so I wholeheartedly approve of a proper road test for the Sarrouel Trousers!

    • Thanks for the words of encouragement, Mads! Working with this pattern was such a fun experiment for me, and so different from my usual, highly practical approach to sewing. Sometimes it’s nice to throw caution to the wind and just go for it, you know? 🙂 I do hope to see a few other versions of this pattern pop up, but we’ll see! If I do wind up making a real version and wearing them out in public, I’ll be sure to share my experience. I’m sure there will be a few stories to tell, LOL.

  18. Wow – these are certainly different! They are completely not my kind of thing at all (I can remember the MC Hammer days too..) but I love that you made something so out of the ordinary! I kind of like them from the front but the way they bunch at the back less so – so your suggestion of a much drapier fabric might work better there? I agree with previous comments about going slightly longer as well

    Go for it – who cares what people think!

    Louise

    • Haha, thanks for the encouragement, Louise! I agree – the bunching up in the back is my least favorite part of these shorts. I wonder if a rayon would work better… and in fact, I discovered a piece of floral rayon in my mini-stash that is *just* big enough to fit all the pieces. [Insert maniacal laughter…] Stay tuned. 🙂

  19. To be honest I have never understood the dropped crotch thing. A couple of years ago zouave pants were in over here and the sewing magazine I subscribe to obviously had a pattern for one and on the same page it said something like “men don’t understand these pants”. All I could think was: and they are completely right…
    A more drapey fabric might improve the look but I don’t think I’ll ever learn to love it… It seems like a lot of fun though to try these kind of strange patterns.
    I actually prefer to get my patterns without seam allowances. I feel it makes it easier to do pattern adjustments and I can decide for myself what kind of sewing allowance I want to use.

    • Emmely, I can always count on you to be the voice of reason. 🙂 It was definitely fun to experiment with such a different type of garment. My usual pattern choices are so practical and functional that I guess I needed a little break from it all! I think Chantal makes a good point below that this style isn’t necessarily meant to be flattering, just different, which I think it does well.

      As for seam allowances, I think I’d prefer having both cut lines and seam lines drawn on the pattern pieces instead of just one or the other. That way I can use the included SA if I want to, or adjust as needed. Named does this, which I find helpful… now if only they would nest their patterns!

      • I fear the jungle of lines you would get when nesting patterns with both line options might drive you crazy… Especially if everything is printed in black, perhaps when the different sizes are printed in different colours it might work?

  20. Well, umm, huh. Please don’t be offended if I tell you this is the blogpost I’ve seen in a long time because it made me laugh. I had a bit of a giggle fit looking at the pictures especially the back view. My husband came over to see what I was laughing about and wanted to know if the extra fabric in the back was for a tail? I assured him that may be the case but that YOU don’t have a tail. Sooo, thank you for experimenting but I really don’t think different fabric is going to improve these, uh, pants? Hope I haven’t offended and I truly did enjoy this post.

    • Hahaha! Susan, I’m glad you got such a kick out of my little sewing experiment here. 🙂 Rest assured that I do not have a tail, although yes, I suppose there is plenty of room for whatever type of appendages you happen to have down there, LOL! I’m not offended at all and welcome the honest feedback. I don’t take myself very seriously and just like to have fun with my sewing. If you are going to get through all of life’s ups and downs, you have to be able to laugh at yourself. 🙂

  21. I’m so behind on reading blogs, but when I saw that first photo of you in my reader, I just had to click! This is the last thing I expected to see you sew! I agree with everyone else that it’s not a flattering look, but I do find it really intriguing. I think what makes it so interesting is that it goes against the general rule that all garments made for women should make the woman look as attractive as possible. In a society that values women for attractiveness above all else, it is really refreshing to see a look that has something else of interest.

    I first saw this style on a real person last summer at a retreat in California, and I was intrigued by how practical it actually is. It’s loose and comfortable for easy movement and keeping cool, but without worrying about the skirt flying up. Perfect for yoga or gardening or just general adventuring. One woman who wore them was a taiko drummer, and I was struck by the energy and presence she had. I think that her confidence actually made the look attractive after all, but in a much more powerful way, as if she were not just an object, but an active participant. I’m actually planning to make a couple of similar pants to wear to yoga, so I’m a bit biased, but I think you should make another pair and wear them out in the world!

    • Chantal, thanks for your very thoughtful comments. I don’t think I could have said it better myself. Is there really anything wrong with a woman wearing an unflattering look? It’s not indecent or offensive, just a different style. I hope you make some yoga pants, and I’ve definitely decided to make a real pair of these shorts. To hell with societal norms!

  22. Well, this wasn’t what I expected when I opened my blog reader! Personally, I don’t like this style and I would never wear it out. I just don’t think it is flattering. However, there is something there – I kind of like the look from the front. I think you’re right when you say that you have to own this look. I’m certain that if you went out, full of confidence in your outfit, it would be great. Good luck if you do decide to go with another version and please do share any stories.

    • Thanks Claire. I think you’re right – there’s something interesting and intriguing about this style, even though it’s not a particularly flattering look. I suspect most people will think I’m crazy, but I’ve decided to make a real pair of these shorts and wear them around the city. I live in such an urban area that I think I might actually be able to pull it off…. maybe. 🙂

  23. These remind me of Thai Fisherman Pants, but more polished. They look really comfy. I liked that you showed what they looked like before sewing the inseam. Very interesting. I wonder what they would look like in full length. I like these, I personally wouldn’t wear these out and about because they wouldn’t suite me. I would wear them as “fancy loungewear” (that’s a thing right?) around the house. They would be really comfy when bending and squatting to do chores and gardening; and they have pockets – that’s handy!
    It’s annoying when patterns instruct you to make thinks that aren’t finished well. No exposed seams – Please!

    I think you should definitely try making them in a fashion fabric (something not too expensive). I think you’re right about showing off the different pattern pieces with a directional print. I think I’d go a drapey mid-weight fabric. Something too like and they might bunch up while walking; too heavy and they’ll be stiff. Looking forward to seeing what you do next 🙂

    • Thanks Vanessa! I bet these would make really comfortable loungewear, and Chantal suggested above that they would be great for yoga. I’m going to make my real pair in a floral rayon that I happened to have lying around. It’s on the lightweight side, but I’m curious to see how the extra drape will play out with with pattern. Stay tuned for more questionable fashion on this blog, LOL.

  24. An interesting experiment! I have this book too, daughter no 1 loves the drapey Japanese style. She actually liked the look of the shorts in the book, so I will have to show her this post! I agree that perhaps the length needs to be longer on you, to keep the proportions more like the image in the book. As for wearing them out, go for it! Stye it with edgy, modern accessories and “own it”, as the kids say. I certainly wouldn’t wear them, but that’s just me. I can however, see them working on daughter no 1, I just need fabric, like you. I think I’d be looking for a loose weave linen, and love the idea of using something with stripes or plaid, to emphasise the different grain on the pieces. Good luck with your decision!

    • Thanks Anne! I agree, a loose weave linen would be great for this pattern. I hope you decide to give it a try for your daughter! I’ve decided to make my real pair in a drapey rayon, and I’m curious to see how it will work out. As for wearing them on the street, I think that will be the ultimate fashion experiment, LOL!

  25. LOVE all the comments! Very humorous! I live in backwoods Tennessee. That translates to nobody in a fifty mile radius would even think of venturing out on the limb of liking, much less, wearing these, except maybe me. I feel the same way you seem to… They could be very edgy/cool. I think with the proper size and material, I could LOVE them. I like the model’s pair, but I would have chosen a different top.

    • Thanks lauralu, you should totally give this pattern a try! As another commenter said: who cares what people think! I definitely know what you mean about different parts of the country/world having different levels of acceptance when it comes to fashion forward choices. Luckily I live in a very urban area with lots of young people, hipsters, etc., so I think I might actually be able to pull these off without too many side-eye looks… maybe!

  26. I am so intrigued by the pattern and yours look so similar to the book too! Looking at the models, they look like they are made of linen to maximise drape. If I made them- and I’m thinking about it!- I think I would go for a longer leg, ¾ length. Such an interesting cut, like a circle skirt at the waist.

    • Yes, the waistline is really similar to a circle skirt, and I agree that the book version seems to be made out of linen. I’m really curious to try this pattern in a variety of fabrics to see how they come out… but how many pairs of harem shorts does one woman need? 🙂

  27. I think they are quite cool and funny (no, I could never wear them). But I am truly in awe of your position in the last photo. I’m afraid paramedics would be required to get me out of such a spot!

  28. My first response to the photo in the book was EEK! But, like you, I keep coming back to them. I think the key to getting the look is to emphasize the drape, volume and bias cut. I would try a solid black to play up the form, or an unusual stripe like the book. The put on some dark glasses, hit the streets and see what happens!

  29. I just recently attempted the Sarrouel Trousers in the nicest gray linen, but got so turned around during construction that I must have ripped out every seam at least once and ended up attaching them the wrong way. A complete disaster, but I’ll no doubt try them again when the right fabric appears. Currently attempting the Semi-flared Culottes and got stuck on step one- the pockets. Nutty. Thank you for posting your take on it- felt like I was losing my head!

Leave a Comment

