Simple sunshiny summer skirt (Simplicity 1717)

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - front

Happy Memorial Day to those of you in the US!  As today is the unofficial start to a very long-awaited summer, I have a cheerful, sunshiny yellow skirt to share with you.  It’s a quick and simple project, and it represents the sum total of my sewing over the last month.  Yikes!  As you know, I recently moved apartments, and the move basically sucked up all of my free time for the last several weeks.  So glad it’s over with!  Even better, this roof deck is now home.  That’s right folks, I finally have a private, outdoor location for taking blog photos.  Let us all rejoice in sewing blogger bliss!

All right, back to the skirt.  That’s what you came here for, right?  🙂

Simplicity 1717 pattern art

Project Stats:

Pattern: Simplicity 1717, View C, using the “slim” (aka hip-less) pattern pieces.  This is my second time sewing this skirt; the first was a fully-lined fall version.  I cut a size 12 but then added some additional width to the side seams to make it sit below my natural waist, so the final size is probably more like a 14.  For reference, my measurements are 36 inch full bust, 29 inch waist, 37 inch hips.  (I keep reminding myself to start including my measurements since I always find them so helpful on other blogs.)

Fabric: A cheerful quilting cotton that I got on sale, woohoo!  The print is Moda Half Moon Modern Large Zig-Zag in Sunshine.  This was a total impulse buy, which is very rare for this monetarily-challenged grad student.  What can I say, it’s hard to resist a sale.  🙂

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - side

Modifications: A few fit alterations that I had made for my first version:

  • Added about 3/4 inch to each side seam to make the skirt sit a bit below my natural waist, as is my preference for just about any skirt.
  • Tweaked the waistband a bit, which helped but didn’t completely eliminate some rippling along the waistband seam.
  • Added 1 inch to the hem (I’m 5’8″).

And a few new modifications for this version:

  • Eliminated the patch pockets.
  • Eliminated the center front and center back seams by cutting the front and back pieces on the fold.  (There’s no shaping in either seam, so this was a super easy mod.)
  • Moved the invisible zipper from the back to the left side seam.
  • Added an inverted pleat at the center front, just for fun!

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - back

Level of crafty satisfaction: Not bad for such a simple garment.  This skirt is not a masterpiece, but considering how little time it took to cut and sew, I’d say it’s just fine.  🙂

Now, can we talk about print-matching for a bit?  You guys, I tried so hard to get these chevrons to line up on this skirt, to no avail!  Argh!!!  For some reason I just could NOT get the print on the front piece to be symmetrical while maintaining a line of chevron points down the center front.  Even weirder, the back piece worked out perfectly.  Could part of my fabric have warped during the pre-wash/dry, rendering the front piece slightly off-grain but the back piece unwarped??

After driving myself crazy and tracing the front piece onto my fabric 3 different times (with no luck), I gave up and went for the straight line of chevrons down the center front, leaving the print just a bit crooked.  This messed up my print-matching on the pleat (nooooo!) as well as my attempt to match the chevron at the center front waistband with the center front skirt (double nooooo!).

Behold, slight crookedness all around:

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - waistband front

It’s not awful, but those little misalignments really drive me crazy.  Anyway, I tried to make myself feel better by adding a fun yellow waistband facing, which let’s face it, is super cheerful and does indeed help to ease the pain of mis-matched prints.  🙂

The print-matching on the back came out better, but not quite perfect.  Check out the chevron at the center back waist:

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - waistband back

So close, blargh!

On another note, did you notice all the rippling along the waistband seam on both the front and back of the skirt?  I had this same problem on my previous version, and I’m convinced there’s something wrong with the drafting here.  If it only happened once it would be easy to blame myself, but since I had the same problem twice, I’m officially blaming the pattern.  Has anyone else had this issue with this pattern?

Anyway, drafting and print-matching complaints aside, this is a simple little skirt that will be a fun addition to my summer wardrobe.  I left it unlined for maximum lightness and breathability in the summer heat, and the hem is simply turned twice and topstitched.  Quick and easy!

I’ll leave you with this ridiculous and extremely awkward photo of me ripping off Vanessa yet again:

Yellow chevron skirt - Simplicity 1717 - awesome skirt fist pumpAwesome skirt fist pump!!

Hope you all had a great weekend, and for those of you off from work today, may your day be filled with sunshine, grilled burgers, and lots of sewing time.  🙂

27 thoughts on “Simple sunshiny summer skirt (Simplicity 1717)

  1. Simple skirt but stunning! I must say I couldn’t take my eyes of that front pleat (I know that sounds really weird) but I thought you’d done an awesome job of pattern matching. Then I looked at your other photos and read what you’d put about the lack of pattern matching and I think you’ve been a bit harsh on yourself. The main thing is the balance and symmetry at the front, and when worn it looks spot on. I’m sure even Patrick from the GBSB would agree too!
    Happy new home…. photos in the sunshine, can’t get any better than that!

    • Haha, thanks Ali! I’d be terrified to let Patrick into my closet. 🙂 I do think you’re right though – the chevrons look fine from afar, which is really all that matters. It bugs me that *I know* they’re not perfect, but if anyone else is staring that closely at the crotch area of my skirt, I have bigger problems than print-matching, LOL!

  2. Ooh, the fabric just brightened my iPad up! What a lovely skirt, it will go with everything! I didn’t even notice the crooked part, even when you mentioned it. I was just looking at the picture thinking, “What, it’s not crooked!” Finally, I found it, but it’s not that noticeable. Have a fun weekend!

    Abigail

    • Haha, thanks Abigail! The misalignments are definitely minor and not noticeable from afar, but they bug me because I feel like this off-grain print defeated me. I guess you win some, you lose some. 🙂

  3. It’s such a drag when you actually care about pattern matching and the fabric won’t behave! I think this looks so great, though– I really didn’t notice anything was off until you pointed it out. I think the addition of the front pleat was brilliant, especially with the chevron fabric. It’s a great skirt for summer!

    • Thanks so much, Teri! I thought the pleat would be a fun effect with this bold fabric. It adds just a bit of interest to an otherwise plain skirt. Here’s hoping the weather says warm now so that I can start wearing it!

  4. This came out really, really cute! (Quit being so hard on yourself!) The colors are so bright & cheerful! If I passed you while walking down the street, I’d smile at you–just because your skirt is so cute! (And I’d think you shopped at some elegant, expensive dress shop!) You made a good impulse buy on this fabric!!!

    • Thanks for the kind words, Barb! I really love wearing bright, colorful clothing, and this is one of the many joys of sewing for me. Colorful options are so hard to find in RTW. I guess this was a good impulse buy after all… the total cost of this skirt was only about $8, including the zipper!

  5. I agree with all above comments, plus I love the skirt + t-shirt combination. Nice use of multiple prints. They look cool together. Congrats on your new deck (and attached apartment). I love the pleat at the front. It’s nice to have you back in blogland.

    • Thanks so much, Lisa! It’s funny, when I was getting ready to take photos of this skirt, I had the hardest time choosing a top to wear with it. I finally settled on this orange print top thinking it was “close enough.” I’m glad at least one person liked the combo, because I wasn’t even sure if I did, LOL!

      • I have a lovely photo of a dress I’d like to recreate and it is black and white chevrons….now I’ve seen yours I want it in that colour!!!

  6. This is totally springy! The colour is so fresh and cheerful. Like everyone else I would say that the mismatch on the fabric is not at all noticeable. I’ve seen this pattern before and not paid much attention but it looks like a good basic to have, I need more skirts (now I am stocked uo on trousers!)

    Louise

    • Thanks Louise! I bought this pattern when I first started sewing and probably wouldn’t have bought it again now, but it’s nice to have a basic A-line skirt pattern around. I still say there’s something wrong with the waistband in this pattern, so I’d recommend finding another basic skirt pattern to use.

  7. The good news is when there’s a body in the skirt, the misalignments move away from each other! It looks spot-on in the photos where you’re modeling it. Congrats on your new place!

    • Thanks Morgan! My frustrations with the print-matching are solely due to my perfectionist tendencies. I’m sure no one will ever notice the slight mis-match. The new house is amazing – I’ll have to post some photos of my new sewing space once I completely settle in. 🙂

  8. I love the yellow and I’m envious that you can pull of that colour so well! It really doesn’t suit my skin tone. Like the others, I think the skirt looks great and you don’t notice the pattern matching. The inverted pleat is a lovely feature.

  9. Ooh I feel your pattern matching angst–it drives me bonkers when I aaaaaalmost get things all lined up, but not quite (even if nobody else can tell…). 99% of the time I blame the fabric though–seems so hard to get something that’s truly printed on-grain. In any case, your skirt is lovely and I agree with the others, you really can’t tell the pattern isn’t perfect unless you point it out! And I really love the way the chevrons are offset in the front pleat–super cute!

    • Thanks so much, Shannon! It really is almost impossible to find fabric with a print that’s truly on grain. Most quality fabrics are close enough though, like this one. I also wonder if my fabric got a bit warped in the wash, who knows!

Leave a Comment

