On the road again: a short blogging break

Sewing machines packed

Hello friends!  I just wanted to pop in and let you know that I’ll be taking a short break from sewing and blogging for a week or two.  My machines and fabric are currently packed up in anticipation of an upcoming apartment move.  Ah, moving.  Is there anything more stressful and exhausting?  Well yes, actually, plenty of things, but moving is still a pain in the butt.  Fortunately this is just a local move (less than 1 mile away), which actually makes things a lot easier.  I still may be moving farther away once I graduate, but I won’t figure that out for a few more months.

In the meantime, I’ll be spending this week sitting on a lawn chair in my current apartment among ceiling-high piles of boxes, perhaps petting the box of fabric once in a while just to keep my spirits up.  (And yes, all my fabric fits in one box.  In fact, just a small portion of one box!)

Despite the chaos, I’ve been doing my best to keep up my MMM’15 pledge.  Packing and moving are not exactly conducive to wearing your precious handmade garments, but so far I’ve only missed 2 days, both of which involved full days of cleaning, packing, and generally being covered in dirt and dust.  Today I was back at work in my granny chic tank though, and I really enjoyed wearing it!

I’ll be reading blogs sporadically but probably much less than usual, so I apologize in advance for disappearing from all your wonderful blogs for a bit.  I’ll be back soon though, with a new sewing space (in the penthouse!), more natural light for blog photography (a skylight and adjoining roof deck!), and a permanent photographer (a man!).  Until then, happy sewing.  🙂

28 thoughts on “On the road again: a short blogging break

  1. Ouch! I feel your pain. I’ll be moving in two months after having lived in the same house for 7 years. The amount of stuff I have accumulated is just insane. And my fabric certainly doesn’t fit in one box.
    Good move!

    • Thanks Vaire, and good luck with your move as well! I’ve been here for 5 years and just finished a huge apartment clean-out. It is truly amazing how much stuff you can accumulate, but it feels good to purge and start fresh. I look forward to the day when my fabric takes up more than one box, LOL. 🙂

    • Thanks Rebecca! I think the new place will be great – bigger, sunnier, and quieter. I live in a college town and will be glad to get a little further away from the hustle and bustle. Best of luck with your upcoming move as well (assuming it hasn’t happened yet)!

  2. Having just moved myself I can concur that moving is a pain but when you move to a much better home (and it sure sounds like your move will be an improvement!) it’s definitely worth it! Good luck packing and getting everything to the new place!

    • Thanks so much Emmely, and congrats on surviving your recent move! I know you were finishing up your dissertation – did you graduate? If so, huge congrats!!! 🙂

      • No, I’m still almost finished. Some unexpected things caused some delay. I am really really hoping I’ll be able to send everything to my thesis committee by the end of June. I’ll have to work really hard the next couple of weeks.

        • Good luck with everything! I admire your dedication and am hoping to channel some of my own over the next few months. I’m planning to graduate in September.

    • Thanks Lisa! Fortunately this move is about as low-key as a move can get, so I guess I can’t complain too much. Honestly, my biggest complaint is the lack of sewing right now. 🙂

  3. A sunny penthouse?! Wowee, sounds terrific! Now all you’ll need is that espresso machine…or maybe it comes with one? 🙂 Happy moving Carolyn!

    • Thanks Kathy! A large coffee machine is definitely included, but I’m still missing the ocean view. Perhaps one day I will be as lucky as you in that department!

Leave a Comment

