My pledge for Me-Made-May ’15: wear whatever the heck I want!

Me Made May 15

Breaking news: I’ve decided to join in the fun and participate in Me-Made-May ’15!  It took me a while to decide if I was going to pledge or not, mostly because I really dislike any rules or deadlines imposed on my sewing.  I find that sewing-related obligations suck all the fun right out of my hobby, and who wants that?  So, I’ve decided to make my pledge flexible and not hold myself to any strict rules.  In fact, I’m going to do exactly what I did last year, which worked out really well for me.  I had a lot of fun, wore a lot of my handmade garments, and didn’t feel any pressure!

Here’s my pledge:

I, Carolyn, of allspiceabounds.wordpress.com, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15.  I endeavor to be mindful of my handmade wardrobe each day for the duration of May 2015.

And here are my guidelines (not rules!):

  • Write down what I wear each day, including all handmade garments and accessories.
  • Consciously think about wearing at least one handmade garment each day.  I will ask myself each morning, “What handmade items can I wear today?”
  • If I don’t feel like wearing anything handmade, I won’t force myself.
  • As the month goes on, I will try to wear handmade garments that haven’t been worn earlier in the month.

That’s it!  Not too bad, right?  I think I can live with this for a month.  🙂

The reality is that, like many of you, I wear at least one handmade garment almost everyday anyway (I’m wearing 4 today!), so I already feel comfortable with how I’m incorporating my handmade garments into my everyday life.  The one time I imposed a strict rule for myself, during One Week One Pattern 2014, I was pretty grumpy about it.  I really disliked not having a choice about what I chose to wear each morning, and my mood got worse and worse as the week wore on.  And that was only for 7 days!  I’m not going to do that to myself for an entire month.  May is a beautiful month here weather-wise, and I want to be happy and enjoy it.  🙂

OWOP14 Collage by Allspice Abounds

Check out my grumpy face on Day 6!

One thing I will definitely NOT be doing for MMM’15 is taking daily outfit photographs.  I know this is a really popular thing to do during MMM, but I know myself, and there is no way I could maintain my sanity during a month of daily selfies.  Instead, I’ll probably do a reflection post at the end of the month featuring some nerdy charts like last year.  I make charts of data for a living and can’t resist, haha.

Me Made May 2014 Chart 2Expect to see more of this awesomeness!

I know that MMM is supposed to be a challenge, a way of pushing yourself to learn more about what you sew and why you sew, a way to challenge yourself to make the most of your handmade wardrobe.  But friends, to be perfectly honest, I have enough challenges in my life right now (writing my dissertation! finding a job! moving to an as-yet-unknown city!), and I don’t need to throw sewing into that mix.  Any more stress added to my life right now might just push me over the edge… and no one wants to see that.  🙂

So essentially my pledge for MMM’15 is to wear whatever the heck I want.  Done and done!

Are you participating this year?  If so, what do you think your biggest challenge will be?

37 thoughts on “My pledge for Me-Made-May ’15: wear whatever the heck I want!

  1. I quite like your pledge! I completely agree that rules and deadlines totally ruin my sewing hobby. I’m not doing MMM this year…I enjoyed it last year, and it really made me think more about what I actually wear in my wardrobe, but I just don’t have the time (or desire) to photograph and document everything haha. I’m lazy! I’m so organized and detailed oriented in lab and then it all goes to the wayside once I get home 🙂

    • Thanks Carrie! I totally hear you on daily photographs and documenting things. I could never, ever take photos everyday for 30 days, but last year I managed to write down what I wore each day without getting too frustrated by it. I’m glad you had a good experience last year, and good luck finishing up your degree. What a stressful time… blargh!

  2. I like your approach! I am participating – pledged me made item per day. My biggest challenge will be styling. I am not very good at that. I am looking forward to it though as its my first time😁

    • Thanks Hila! Styling is a huge challenge for me too. I feel like I don’t have the styling gene! How do people do it?? I always wind up wearing a variation of the same few outfits. Good luck with your first MMM! Hope you have fun and gain some insights. 🙂

  3. I really wanted to participate this year and I was holding myself to it. However moving to another state and starting my first year at a big university while working full time squashed my hopes of making enough to be able to participate. I keep telling myself there is always next year! Seeing how flexable your being with your MMM plans gives me hope that next year ill have just enough to pledge. Can’t wait to see how you manage the month this year!

    • Wow, sounds like you have more than enough on your plate already! Hang in there and hope all is going well so far. 🙂 I’m hoping my flexible MMM pledge will get me to wear more me-mades without feeling obligated. It’s just a personal pledge – no one is going to hold you to it – so you might as well do whatever you want and have fun with it!

  4. This is the first year I’m planning on sitting it out, mostly due to lack of time and energy to document. I love the event and feel like an MMM success story – rarely a day goes by when I’m not wearing stuff I made from head-to-toe, undies to outerwear! I did it for the first time in 2010, when I’d been sewing for under a year and it’s not an overstatement to say that it changed the course of my sewing! I’ll be cheering everybody on (and taking occasional dips in the flickr pool to see all the gorgeous garments!)

    • Wow, what a great story! I look forward to the day when I can consistently wear all me-mades from head to toe. I’m getting there! I think you really captured the spirit of MMM – using it as a way to think critically about your handmade wardrobe, identify and fill in gaps, and get the most out of all your hard work. Very inspiring!

  5. Your pledge sounds very back – Iban mainly worried about repeats – I wear mainly handmade but tend to wear the same things regularly. I like the daily pictured for the sense of being part of a community but it’s hard to take a decent selfie where you can actually see any detail of what’s being worn! Will see how it goes – it’s not as if there are Mmmay police after all!

    • That’s so funny. I always joke to my boyfriend and friends about the MMMay Police. 😉 I’m like no one is sitting there with a clipboard checking everyone off every day.

    • Haha exactly!! No one is checking! I wear a lot of repeats too, and I guess I’ve just accepted that my coworkers have noticed this and just accept it as part of my wacky personality, LOL. Maybe MMM will be an excuse to dig out the more infrequently worn pieces from your wardrobe and evaluate whether you actually want to keep them or not?

  6. For me, MMM just isn’t a challenge anymore! It’s highly unusual if I’m wearing all RTW, frankly. I do like the celebration of our handmade wardrobe counterculture and seeing how people incorporate handmades into their daily outfits, but I’m sitting out the pledge this year. I might throw in a few IG selfies, but that’s nothing new! I like your pledge though. Sewing is fun, and regular life is challenging enough! Don’t need the added stress.

    • This is great, Lisa! I hope to be in your situation one day, and I’m definitely making progress. My incorporation of handmade garments changes with the seasons, and I have a bunch of summer RTW clothes that I enjoy wearing, but not a lot of winter RTW. I’ll be curious how this summer goes… we’ll see!

  7. I like your attitude about this!! Great post. It’s pretty much how I’m going about MMMay ’15. I challenged myself the past three years and accomplished those goals and had fun, so this year I play and frolic and whatever happens, happens.

    • Yay, play and frolic to your heart’s content! Congrats on accomplishing your MMM goals for 3 years in a row – how awesome! I think you deserve to relax a bit this year. 🙂

  8. Carolyn,
    I really like how you have made your pledge into something that you are comfortable with.
    No one needs added stress and it’s great that you know yourself well enough to know what you are able to do without it becoming a huge chore. You’ve inspired me 🙂

    P.s. Your day 6 grumpy face makes me giggle.
    You look so exasperated. 🙂 #sorrynotsorry

    • Thanks so much, Vanessa! I try to be realistic about what I can and cannot accomplish, both in sewing and life! And yes, I was pretty exasperated by Day 6 of OWOP. **Never again.** 🙂

  9. Great pledge! I love that MMM is all about what works for you because everyone is at different levels in sewing and life. I like your guidelines, as there really are no rules since it’s all about challenging yourself. I love your chart too.

    • Haha, I know right! It took me a long time to get up to speed on sewing blogs in general, and there’s still no way I can follow everything. It’s great to have such a large, diverse, and engaged community though. Sewists are the best!

  10. Good for you, Carolyn! It’s meant to be FUN & you sound as though you have plenty to keep yourself “occupied” just now!! (Good luck with it all.) 🙂

    • Thanks Kathy! My life is crazy right now, so I’m trying to give myself as little additional stress as possible. I may give up on MMM halfway through, but I’m going to give it a try at least!

  11. I really like the idea of MMM but I just can’t bring myself to join in this year for all of the reasons you listed. You’re flexible approach seems perfect for where you are now. Looking forward to seeing your round up – I love looking at graphs. They can tell you much more than a daily photo!

    • Haha, thanks Claire! I’m glad I’m not the only one who enjoys these garment graphs. 🙂 As Louise said above, it’s so difficult to get good quality photos on a daily basis anyway, so I’m not even going to try. Graphs for everything!

  12. Oh no, you are MOVING??? Waaaaaa 😦

    Well, in the meantime — I like your guidelines for MMM, and looking forward to seeing your data analysis for the 2015 version of things!

  13. I’m participating in MMM this year. It’s my first go at it. I don’t have an extensive wardrobe of me-mades yet but I’m working on it. Actually that is my challenge. To make more me-made stuff to incorporate during the month.

Leave a Comment

