Where are they now: Archer edition

Where are they now - Archer edition

Do you ever wonder what happens to handmade garments after their initial blog debut?  I do!  It’s one of the reasons I always enjoy Gillian’s year-in-review series where everyone confesses which garments didn’t quite live up to their expectations.  We all put so much work into our garments… but then what?  Are we still wearing them a year later?  Did our tastes change?  Did the garments survive the wash?

And why am I talking about failed garments and my beloved Archers in the same post??

Well, I have a confession to make.  As the long winter drags on, I’ve realized that I haven’t been reaching for my Archers anymore.  It’s not that I don’t love them.  In fact, I’m actually kind of sad that they haven’t been making the rounds lately.  So what gives?

People, IT’S COLD.  So cold, in fact, that a loose-fitting woven top just doesn’t cut it in the warmth department.  I’ve been layering with close-fitting tops and sweaters that hug my body and keep in the heat.  The lightweight cotton of my precious Archers combined with the generous cut (read: plenty of room for cold air to seep in!) are just not a good combination for winter.  There, I said it!  I’ve come to the conclusion that my Archers are 3-season garments.  Perfect for transitional weather in spring and fall, and even great for summer in all those air-conditioned buildings.  But winter?  Not so great.

Some of you may recall my grand plan of sewing Renfrews to match my Archers, but alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  It turns out that getting a long cotton sleeve to fit into another long cotton sleeve produces almost enough friction to start a fire, and if you do manage to squeeze into those sleeves, it’s pretty uncomfortable to wear all day.  Womp womp.  I am crying a single tear.

So where are my Archers now?  Hanging in my closet, being neglected, and waiting for warmer days when I can wear them with a tank top.  Until further notice I’ll be living in my huge puffer coat and covered with a down blanket.

Do you have any handmade garment confessions to make?  It feels good to let them out.  🙂

21 thoughts on “Where are they now: Archer edition

  1. I don’t think there is any shame in garments not being worn during particular seasons, I makes perfect sense. There are few climates where the same clothes are didn’t year round. Besides, it’s nice to come back to loved garments after some time apart, it allows you to refresh your life for the garment.
    Singing I think would be more interesting would be thinking about what isn’t worn for reasons other than season.

    • Yes, I agree, and I certainly have garments that fall into that category too. I made too many dresses when I started sewing, and then I realized that I hardly ever wear dresses. Oops. 🙂 With the Archers, I guess I had always envisioned wearing them in cold weather, but such is life! I still love them and will come back to them in the spring. Like you said, some time apart might be a good thing.

  2. Oh never mind Carolyn! There are very few garments that reeeeally serve all year ’round, especially in the extreme conditions you poor Northern Hemisphere folk are enduring at the moment! I really hope Spring springs for you soon – you must be over it! Give your Archers a pat occasionally so they know you still love ’em! Stay warm!! 🙂

    • Haha, you are too funny Kathy! I always thought I’d be able to wear these shirts year round, so I guess that’s where my confession is coming from. Oh well. This winter has been intense, and I’m looking forward to some relief, finally! I’m not going to ask how your summer by the beach is going because I don’t want to burst into tears, LOL. 🙂

  3. I finally stopped trying to make fall and spring items work in winter this year, too. Now I’ve discovered the wonders of Polartec via millyardage.com. I like the idea of a report on what you’ve made a year or two out, though. I think it sounds like the Archers are a true success but, like you said, a three-season success.

    • Well said, Lisa. I remember your post a few months ago about “real” winter style, and I’ve come to the same conclusion. There is no use trying to look good at the expense of being cold, especially during such a long winter. I’ve never sewn with Polartec but now I want to give it a try! What have you been making with it?

  4. Oh no! Can’t you make them work with a cardigan or a jumper on top of them? I was layer a lot in winter and by this I mean long sleeve t-shirt, short sleeve t-shirt on top, thick hoodie or cardigan and coat (not to forget the scarf, hat and gloves!). I’m always quite cold, so I have just come to terms with the fact that there are a number of things I can’t wear…

    • I’m in the same boat – I’m always cold! Just about the only way I can wear the Archers is with a sweater on top, like you mentioned. I do this every once in a while just so I can still enjoy wearing them, but more often I’m layered in knits. Stay warm, and hopefully spring will arrive for all of us soon! 🙂

  5. I know how you feel about leaving beloved items in your wardrobe for a season. I have a few dresses I’m longing to wear to work but it’s just too cold! I’m looking forward to the temperatures rising a bit so I can show them daylight again. I hope spring arrives for you soon, it’s been intense where you are.

    • Thanks Claire, I hope you get some warmer weather soon too! I have a bunch of summer clothes that I’m looking forward to wearing again, but for now I’ll be happy with ditching my huge coat and boots everyday. Baby steps. 🙂

  6. I am mainly wearing ponte at the moment and not quite ready to venture back into wovens and it is a lot less wintery here than with you so I don’t blame you for sticking to the cosy things! Maybe with a vest underneath and thicker jumper/sweatshirt on top at some point? I really like that collar and cuffs poking out of a sweater look?

    Louise

    • Yes, I really like that look too. Every once in a while I’ll wear an Archer under a sweater and feel very preppy all day. 🙂 And I totally agree – it’s all about knits in the winter! Layers and layers of knits.

  7. Ha! I totally get it. I do like my Archers under a sweater, but it’s been too flipping cold to wear on their own. I did make a flannel Archer that gets frequent wear (layered with a long sleeve tee–the struggle is worth the warmth!) and have been loving the Linden sweatshirts I’ve made. Admittedly, the fashion choices are limited in such cold weather, and I’ve had to beef up that part of my wardrobe lately!

    • Exactly! It’s really hard to feel like you look halfway decent while staying warm at the same time. I’m glad you’ve been getting lots of use out of your Lindens. That pattern somehow fell off my radar this winter, but I still want to make some! A flannel Archer is a great idea, and Morgan suggested it too. Making a mental note about that one. 🙂 Stay warm, Lisa!

  8. Carolyn, we must be on the same wavelength.
    Just before you published this post I was thinking that sewing bloggers generally only post about their ‘shiny & new’ makes and rarely do follow up ‘this is how things turned out’ posts. So, thank you for this ‘me-mades IRL’ post.
    Even though you aren’t wearing your Archers as you had planed you still made fabulous shirts that are going to be worn at one time or another 🙂

    • Haha, how funny that you were thinking along these lines as well! Me Made May selfies are an interesting way to see what people actually wind up wearing… and not wearing. As for the Archers, they will make a comeback once the weather warms up. I hear it’s supposed to be happening soon… in theory. 🙂

  9. Almost the same thing happened to me this winter, albeit with shopping not sewing. Bought several copies of a fitted buttondown shirt I liked, thought I was all set for the winter, but once it got really cold, they were just drafty and uncomfortable, and even the thinnest undershirts made them too sticky and staticky. Live and learn, eh. Thanks for the post, and hope you do more like this in the future.

    • Haha exactly, live and learn! Hopefully your button-downs will make a comeback once the weather warms up. 🙂 I always think it’s interesting to read about how sewing projects turned out in the long run… sometimes a garment will be a surprise hit or dud. You never know!

Leave a Comment

