A new look for Allspice Abounds

The new look of Allspice AboundsWelcome to my updated creative space!  This blog was in desperate need of a facelift after several years of the old design, and I wanted to breathe some new life into this space from which I derive so much enjoyment.  I can only do so much in terms of re-design with this 100% free WordPress.com blog, but I’m happy with the new, more modern look.

The first thing you probably noticed is that everything is BIGGER!  My eyes still aren’t used to the huge change in scale, but it seems that blogs have been tending toward larger scale designs lately, and I decided to jump on the bandwagon.  The larger text is easier on my eyes (which don’t seem to be getting any younger, LOL), and I like having more width in the content area to display larger photos.  I’ll have to experiment with how large is too large for my less-than-professional photos, but I hope you’ll bear with me as I figure things out.

I also updated my Finished Project Gallery with larger photos, which I think is a welcome change from the thumbnails I had previously.  The page is now much longer in terms of scrolling, but it’s nice to be able to see the images a bit more clearly.

I’m still tweaking a few things here and there, so please let me know if you encounter any bugs or formatting issues.  I’m not an expert in blog design by any means, but I’ll do my best to fix any issues that arise.

I hope you enjoy the new look, or at the very least find it easier to read!  Have a great weekend, and Happy Valentine’s Day!  🙂

10 thoughts on “A new look for Allspice Abounds

  1. I like the new look! Works great on my phone through Bloglovin’ and on your actual blog. I’ll have to see how it looks on the computer, but I think it seems great!

    • I just changed the theme, so almost no coding was involved. One day I’d love to re-code my entire site from scratch. How did you learn – go you have a good book to recommend?

      • I just changed my theme too, with a paid one, it was less than £20, but can’t remember how much. Initially I was disappointed as I thought it would miraculously change my front static page, I didn’t realise I would still need to create it, but using their template. There were a few instructions and definately lots of trial and error. I’m still not 100% happy with it but not sure what to do next!

        • I think unless you’re a professional web developer, trial and error is pretty much the norm. I also think that blog format isn’t all that critical for a hobby blog. As long as you have great content and a decent layout, people will keep coming back. At least I hope that’s the case! 🙂

Leave a Comment

