2014 Year in Review: Reflections and goals

Top 5 of 2014 - Crafting a RainbowTo round out my 2014 Year In Review posts, today I’ll share a few reflections on my year of sewing and some general goals for the new year.  I suspect we’re all at the point of “enough already!” with these year-end posts, so I’ll try to keep this one short and sweet.  🙂

2014 Reflections

#1 – There is no way I’ll have enough time to sew everything I’d like to.

My brain knows this is true, but the road to acceptance is a long one.  Looking back on this year, I wish I had more time to devote to large projects and to muslin new patterns, but let’s face it, there are only so many hours in the day!  I enjoy taking my time on my sewing projects, and as a result, sewing is a very time-consuming hobby for me.  I think I’ve done a good job of choosing my projects based on a balance of wardrobe needs and skill building, but I need to get better about being content with my time limitations.

#2 – There is more to life than sewing!

This is essentially a corollary to #1.  In a quest to devote as much time as possible to sewing, I think I missed out on other fun opportunities in the past year.  However, when I only have 3-4 hours of down time over an entire weekend, it’s really hard not to dedicate them to sewing!  Choosing another activity might mean no sewing time for an entire week, which is a tough pill to swallow.  I’m not sure what the solution is here, but I want to keep reminding myself that it’s ok to not sew sometimes.

Sewing Goals for 2015

I won’t be holding myself to these goals, but here are 5 items that I’d like to keep in mind for the new year:

#1 – Continue to focus on creating everyday wardrobe pieces and incorporating my color palette.

This has been working really well for me in 2014, and I’d like to keep this overarching guideline at the forefront of my sewing.

#2 – Continue to strive for a fully handmade wardrobe.

I’ve been implicitly doing this by sewing practical garments that fit into my lifestyle, but my ultimate goal is to create all the garments I wear on a daily basis.  Two standout items that are still dominated by RTW are pants and bras.  I made a wearable muslin of a pants pattern last week, and let me tell you, I felt such a sense of accomplishment when I tried them on with a handmade top!  Pants and jeans are on my radar right now, and I hope to get into bra-making eventually as well.

#3 – Continue to sew skillfully.

Teri just mentioned this in her Top 5, and it’s definitely on my priority list as well.  I want to continue to (gently) push myself to learn new techniques, read technical sewing books, and incorporate my reading into my sewing projects.  Hopefully a few Sew Skillfully posts will pop up on this blog as a result.  🙂  This year I tackled false French seams, bound buttonholes, fly zippers, tower plackets, serger stitches, and welt pockets (just today, post coming soon!), and there are so many more techniques to try!

#4 – Continue to work on my sloper.

I don’t know when I’m going to find the time to dive back into this, but I look forward to that day, whenever it may be.  🙂  My bodice and skirt sloper still need some minor adjustments, and I want to add sleeves and create a pants block.  One of my overarching sewing goals is to one day draft a button-down shirt from scratch, based on my sloper.  My huge shoulders fit into my modified Archer pattern ok, but the real deal will come from a custom draft.  One day!

#5 – Continue to develop my blog.

As much as I hate to admit it, I spend a lot of time on this blog.  Sometimes I think it’s too much time, but to be honest, I love blogging and don’t see myself stopping anytime soon.  I used to wonder what I could do to enhance my site, but I suspect the answer is just to be myself!  (A good rule of thumb for blogging and life, no?)  I’m not interested in developing typical blog-boosters like tutorials and patterns for sale, but I hope that by continuing to blog my garments and talk about the technical details, my little site will continue to flourish.

Well, that wraps up my year of sewing and blogging for 2014!  I hope you all have a happy and safe New Year’s celebration, not to mention a fun and exciting year of sewing ahead.

Fabric yo-yos by Allspice Abounds

P.S. – I made a bunch of these fabric yo-yos on my recent plane trip – any ideas what to do with them??  🙂

14 thoughts on “2014 Year in Review: Reflections and goals

  1. I also frequently forget that there’s more to life than sewing. I have a feeling this coming year will help me to remember that since we’ve got some big family adjustments coming! I can’t wait to see your welt pockets and hear more about the pants you muslined.

  2. Great goals and reflections! I too need to remember how much I can sew realistically!
    Those yo-yos are cute! You could tack them together into a table runner or a vibrant piece of wall art!

    • Realistic sewing goals are tough – I find that everything takes longer than I think it will! I’ve been mulling over the idea of a decoration for the wall in my sewing area. I have another trip coming up, so maybe I’ll make some more yo-yos before I make up my mind. 🙂

  3. Make a Christmas tree! A lady in my quilt guild used a small (about 9″ high) cone shaped piece of styrofoam, and used straight pins w/ a round, colored head, to attach various size yo-yos to the cone to make a Christmas tree! I think Red glass head pins, through your white buttons, with the green yo-yos would make a cute tree for next year!

  4. Oooh, yo-yos! Sounds like you’ve already gotten some good ideas for using them, I just wanted to say how adorbs these are. I think your reflections are universal — it’s easy to get caught up in always sewing, especially when you blog about it, but there’s so much more to get into! Good luck with your 2015 goals, it seems like you well on your way to achieving them. Yay for a new year!

    • Thanks so much, Ebi! I think I’ve decided to hold off on doing anything with the yo-yos because I have another cross-country trip coming up later this month, during which I’ll probably make a bunch more. I agree that blogging has an effect on my desire to “produce” something from my sewing space, but I try not to let it get to me too much. My blog is just for fun, after all! Happy New Year!

  5. Those are lovely goals! Aspirational, but not overwhelming. You can do it! (Speaking of which – what else do you love doing as much as sewing?)
    Hope you have a wonderful 2015!

    • Thanks Gillian! I think the only other thing in my life (aside from family and friends) that I love as much as sewing is my work. I get really excited thinking about my research and where it will lead, but I tend to relegate work-related thoughts to work hours. Sewing definitely dominates my free time.

  6. I can totally relate to your first reflection. Just today I was looking for fabric for a project I’m working on and as I was looking through my fabric stash all these new ideas for what I could make kept popping in my head. I was pulling out fabrics for ‘impulse projects’ when I woke up to myself and thought. “No. You can’t sew all of the things all of the time. One project at a time. Focus!” So I put back all the other fabric and just got what I needed for my current project. 🙂

    I really like that your goals for 2015 are continuations of what you’ve been doing already. That’s a really good sign that you’re on the right track. I think a lot of people are really tempted to change it up all the time, but that’s not needed if you’re already doing things in a way that works for you.

    I’m looking forward to reading about the things you make this year.

    • Thanks for the thoughtful comments, Vanessa. It’s so easy to get riled up about sewing and all the projects you want to tackle, and I have to keep reminding myself that there are only so many hours in the day, and most of those are already allotted to other things (like work, ugh!). It’s good to hear that you have a stash of fabrics you love and keep reaching for. I’m sure you’ll sew them all into wonderful garments eventually. 🙂

Leave a Comment

