Thank you for 3 great years!

Allspice Abounds 3-Year Blogiversary

Just a quick post today to say thank you for making Allspice Abounds such a friendly and welcoming place for me to share my crafty adventures.  🙂  Last week marked the 3-year anniversary of this blog, and it’s hard to believe how much time has already flown by!  I started this blog before I learned how to sew (hence the non-sewing-related name), and it took me a while to find my voice.  I’m still working on it, as we all are, but I like to think I’m making progress as the years tick by.

Since I don’t have the resources to finance a giveaway, which seems to be the usual way to celebrate blogiversaries, I thought it might be fun to take a look at a few old posts that make me laugh as I look back on them.  You know, those “what was I thinking??” posts.  🙂  When I started sewing, I really had no idea what I was doing, and this blog is great documentation of that!

What was I thinking?

Throwback #1: The very first garment I sewed was a knit dress pattern.  Of course, I completely ignored the fabric suggestions on the pattern and sewed it up in a woven.  Disaster was bound to ensue!  Check out this post in which I add a bunch of darts (with about a million pins) to try to make the dress fit, and then this post where I complain that the pattern didn’t fit me very well.  Ha!  Thankfully I’ve learned the difference between knits and wovens by now.  🙂

Throwback #2: In this post, I sewed a button-down shirt for my Dad with almost zero sewing experience under my belt.  And you know what, it came out pretty well!  I love how I threw caution to the wind and just went for it.

Throwback #3: I made a few ill-advised flat pattern adjustments to a Big 4 pattern, not knowing how much ease is already built in.  The result was a hilariously huge muslin.  Clearly, I nailed it.

Throwback #4: The EPIC PANTY FAIL of 2013.  Enough said.

Throwback #5: I learned my lesson in how to use busy prints.  This red zebra-striped Renfrew only got one wear out of the house and is now relegated to the pajama drawer.

I can’t help but wonder which of my more recent posts will be featured in a “what was I thinking?” list several years from now.  🙂

Anyway, thank you again for stopping by, reading, and being a part of this blog’s small but friendly community.  I have enjoyed interacting with other sewing bloggers so much over the years, and I have learned so much about our craft from all of your great projects!  It’s an honor to share my projects with you and contribute to such a diverse and passionate community.  Keep up the great work.  🙂

28 thoughts on “Thank you for 3 great years!

  1. This was so fun to read! I’m amazed at that shirt you made your dad when you were new at sewing. It looks great! I got a good laugh at the giant dress and the panty fails. At least you we’re trying. And I bet it was really fun for you to look back and see how far you’ve come!

    • Thanks Teri! It’s always interesting to look back on your former self and try to remember what it was like to not know something that seems so obvious now. I try to to this at work when teaching science to new students, and it’s so difficult! One of the things I love about sewing is that there is just so much to learn – it never gets boring. 🙂

      • I’m too lazy… iwanttobeaturtle had to nag me for about a year just so that I would sign up for twitter. I am considering a flickr account to upload some pictures of my FOs though… maybe it will take me another year to do that!
        I guess I can be considered a professional lurker =)

        • Haha, I can certainly understand that. Blogging is a huge time suck. You could even just post your FOs to Twitter – that would be quick and easy, with no more accounts to create!

  2. I enjoy reading your blog- I think I started sewing at about the same time with you and I can identify with your trials and errors or successes. I like your writing too: down to earth, practical, sincere but also humorous. Thank you for sharing!

      • Here is a recent one: I was cutting the skirt sections of a knit wrap dress (V 8646 by the way) and I hadn’t enough fabric, so I decided to cut single layer and -of course- I completely forgot to flip the pattern when cutting the second piece! I didn’t let this detail dissuade me from finishing the dress though- I took some remedial measures (like stabilizing an edge cut almost on the bias that was going to be joined to an edge cut on grain) and went on just fine. The dress is in full rotation in my wardrobe now! (you can see some of my mades on my flickr page at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/87934385@N07/ but not this dress- time is running short these days).

        • Your projects are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing the link. 🙂 I have almost done that SO many times. It’s easy to forget to flip the pattern when you’re so excited about cutting out a new project, and especially if you’re focusing on print placement or making sure all your pieces will fit. LOL. Glad you saved the dress!

    • Thanks Meigan! I always try to laugh at myself when it’s appropriate. I think it’s easy to start taking yourself too seriously, and I have to remind myself that bumps along the road are inevitable and a part of life. 🙂 The panty fail was probably my funniest sewing fail to date, but we’ll see if I can top it, LOL!

    • Thanks Lisa! It’s amazing how much there is to learn with sewing, and how quickly you can absorb information when you’re first starting out and obsessed with a new hobby. How long have you been sewing? You’re a pro!

  3. Hip, hip, hooray! Congratulations on 3 years of blogging. Thanks for being a very generous blogger, Carolyn. I’m so glad I found your blog. What a great look back at your older posts, they’re a great record of how far you’ve come 🙂

    • Thanks, and I’m glad I found your blog too! You have a very matter-of-fact and practical voice, and you’re one of just a handful of bloggers (at least that I’ve seen) that does a cost breakdown for each project. I always find that part fascinating!

  4. What a fun and inspiring post. I definitely laughed aloud at Throwback #3. Congrats on 3 years blogging and sewing! You’ve definitely learned a lot and I absolutely appreciate your dedication. I always look forward to your posts.

    • Thanks so much for the kind words! When I saw how absolutely huge that muslin was, I couldn’t help but laugh at myself. I just had no idea how big the pattern pieces were supposed to be to fit my body, so it was a total surprise when I tried it on and it was a tent. LOL. Live and learn. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on 3 years of blogging! I love your look backs to earlier posts – I used to sew when I was younger so I didn’t start from scratch but I still found all the fitting and ease issues were new to me this time round (I can’t understand why though – did patterns not have so much ease then or was it just luck?) and it is good to look back to see how far you have come! Here’s to your next three years!

    Louise

    • Thanks Louise! I think fitting is the eternal challenge in sewing – your body is always changing, so there are always new fitting issues to tackle. I’m glad you got back into sewing after a long break! I sewed a bit when I was a teenager, but I had never tackled garment sewing until recently. What an adventure. 🙂

  6. It was funny reading some of your older posts. I only started following you about a year ago or so. I’ve made the mistake of using a woven fabric for a knit pattern as well… In the end I had to rush to the store to buy a jacket that would work with the skirt I had already made to wear at a party because there was no way I could comfortably fit into the jacket that I had created. The skirt also didn’t turn out exactly right because I thought I was following the 1.5 cm mark on my sewing machine and later realised that it was in fact the 1 cm mark… If you have a skirt that is made up of 8 (I think it was) sections that quickly results in a lot more ease than anticipated… Wore it anyway, just that once…

    • It’s so funny to look back at our former selves! It’s also interesting to see which mistakes we only make once (not pre-washing fabric) vs. which ones we keep making over and over again (for me, forgetting the SA width for whatever pattern I’m sewing). Live and learn! 🙂

Leave a Comment

