Summer Blazer Part 3: the reveal!

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - front

After about a month of work, I’m thrilled to show you my finished Summer Blazer!

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - showing lining

Isn’t she a beauty?  🙂  Made of breathable cotton and fully lined in silky Bemberg rayon, this light jacket is the perfect companion for summer days with just a hint of a cool breeze.

Project Stats:

Pattern: Simplicity 2446, a classic-cut, fully lined blazer in 2 lengths.  This is the cropped version, more or less.

Fabric: The shell is a medium weight cotton print, and the lining is Bemberg rayon (my absolute favorite lining fabric).

Modifications: A bunch of fitting alterations, made for my first blazer.  For this version, I chopped 4.5 inches off the hem but left all my other modifications in tact.

Level of crafty satisfaction:  I have to admit, I’m feeling pretty smug about this one.  🙂

Before I throw a bunch more photos at you, a few quick notes:

  • I wrote two in-progress posts about this blazer (Part 1 and Part 2), featuring close-up photos of all the details and diving into construction and finishing techniques.  Check them out for all the nitty-gritty.
  • For all my posts on Simplicity 2446, including my first blazer, click here.
  • The white fabric is a killer to photograph outdoors, but I’ve included some indoor shots at the end of this post so you can see the details of the print.

All right, it’s picture time!

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - one hand on hip Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - back

I’ve allowed a generous amount of ease through the upper back so that I can comfortably move my arms forward, but the jacket is quite fitted at the waist.

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - left side

From the side view, here with the blazer buttoned, you can really see how the jacket nips in at the back waist.  I think that area is one of my better features, so I like to highlight it!

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - right side

Unbuttoned, the front of the blazer really sticks out at the waist.  It’s quite heavily interfaced along the front opening, but I’m hoping it’ll soften up a bit with wear.  What do you think of the 3 silver buttons on the sleeves?  I really dig them.  🙂

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - both hands on hips

I only put one button on the front of the blazer.  I debated adding 1-2 more, but it’s hot and humid in Boston these days, and I didn’t want to make another long walk to the store!  I think it’s ok with just one anyway.

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - both sides open

Flashing the lining!  The yellow piping detail is such a nice touch, I think.  I got the idea from one of the “amazing tips” in the pattern.  This Amazing Fit pattern not only includes a bunch of tips on getting a good fit, but also includes some ideas for making the jacket look a bit more professional.  If you’re new to jacket sewing and want to dive in head first, this pattern is a good place to start.

Some photos indoors on the hanger:

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - on hanger front Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - on hangar back

This fairly contoured garment looks a bit lumpy and limp without a body to fill it out, but at least the white fabric isn’t as washed out here as it was in the outdoor shots.

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - lining front Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - lining back

The only change in the lining from my last post is that I finished hand sewing the jacket hem.  Except for knits, I prefer to hand sew all my hems.  It takes a bit longer, but I’m always pleased with how invisible the stitching is on the outside of the garment.

Adding the back lining pleat to this blazer was a huge improvement over my previous one.  I have a broad upper back, and the extra wiggle room makes a big difference!  The pleat isn’t included in the pattern, but it’s easy to draft your own: just add width to the center back.

Summer Blazer by Allspice Abounds - Simplicity 2446 - silly pose

Well folks, that’s about it!  I’ve included this ridiculous pose at the end because I actually make this bug-eyed face in real life all the time, for some unknown reason.  I’m a little kooky, what can I say?

Many thanks to John, boyfriend extraordinaire, for taking the outdoor photos.  Isn’t he the best?  🙂

I’ll leave you with this: If you’re at all apprehensive about sewing a blazer, take it from me, you can do it.  I dove in head first with absolutely no blazer-sewing knowledge on my first one, and somehow I figured it all out.  Follow the instructions, Google things you need more help with, and just go for it!  This blazer, my second one, is still far from perfect.  But you know what?  It fits WAY better than any RTW blazer I’ve ever owned, and I’m pretty damn proud of that.  Yay sewing!

30 thoughts on “Summer Blazer Part 3: the reveal!

  1. Congrats! It really does look fantastic. Taking your time for the fitting definitely paid off.

    BTW I love your approach to sewing: practical garments that you are gonna wear over and over and superb fitting. That’s how I try to do it as well, although I confess I tend to be lazy when toiling…

    • Thanks so much! Getting this pattern to fit right took a while, but since I did it a year ago, I’ve almost forgotten all my complaining about it. 🙂

      Everyone’s approach to sewing is a little different, and you have to do what makes you happy. Because my budget and sewing time are limited, I try to make the most of what I choose to sew. Also, my lifestyle isn’t very suited for fancy dresses, so I live in separates!

  2. I’ve been really looking forward to seeing the finished jacket, and it is so nice! If I made this I would find an excuse to wear it every day. It’s so clear how much work and love has been put into it as well. Well done you!!

    • Aww, thanks so much Jodie! It was truly a labor of love, especially considering it was this project that threw my back out a few weeks ago! Your comment makes me regret not wearing the blazer to work today… gotta fix that tomorrow. 🙂

  3. Really sharp! The colors are very soft and summery but the geometric print and the cropped shape make it look edgy and modern. Very stylish! I think one button is perfect for the length. I have GOT to try this myself – thanks for the inspiration.

    • Thanks so much Nancy! You very skillfully (and kindly) put into words exactly what I like about this fabric, much better than I tried to explain myself. 🙂 The print isn’t very traditional for a blazer, but I really do think it works. And yes, bite the bullet and give blazer-sewing a try! If I can do it, so can you. It’s so liberating to finally have a jacket that FITS.

  4. It looks awesome! You have every right to be smug 🙂 I love the print – it’s interesting, yet somehow subtle enough to work as a wardrobe neutral.

    • Thanks Chantal! My thoughts exactly about the print. It reads white from a distance, but the print tones it down a bit from stark white. I also like that it’s geometric and not floral. I’m so glad I draped this fabric over myself in the store, otherwise I would have definitely passed on it!

    • Thanks Lauren! The yellow piping is definitely my favorite part. I like adding a little surprise on the inside of my garments, just for fun. 🙂

  5. I used to love wearing jackets but got tired of how poorly they fit, so sewing a jacket has been on my list for a long time. Yours is beautiful! After hearing your encouragement, I’m going to give this one a try.

    • Thanks Gina, and I’m so glad to hear jacket sewing is in your future! 🙂 Take your time on the fit, do some research (there are some great fitting books out there – adjustments for every body type), and enjoy the process!

      I’ve had a similar experience with RTW outerwear – it’s just not cut for my body type, sad but true. The great thing about sewing is that you’re no longer bound by a set of measurements that doesn’t match your body – you can do whatever you want! It’s liberating.

  6. Your blazer looks amazing – I love the rich colour of the lining and the flash of yellow from the binding! Its great to be able to personalise things like that!

    I nominated you for a Liebster

    http://notsewsimple.wordpress.com/2014/07/10/my-first-liebster-award/

    I know you have a had a few alreaady so please feel free not to do the questions (which I just lazily took from Helen who nominated me) but thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting!

    Louise

    • Aww, thanks so much Louise, for your kind words about my blazer and also for the award! It was really thoughtful of you to think of me. If I recall correctly, I found your blog from my previous Liebster post, so it just goes to show that these blog awards are great for making new online friends! 🙂

    • Haha, thanks Shannon! It’s so fun to have a surprise pop of color on the inside. I love flashing it to people when they comment on the blazer, LOL!

  7. Carolyn, that blazer is amazing! I love the fabric you chose and the fit is perfect. Your inside details are great, too. I love the yellow piping. I may have to attempt that pattern eventually!

    • Thanks so much, Teri! This pattern is not a quick project, but it’s a very satisfying one. I don’t know how it compares to other blazer patterns out there, but it worked for me!

  8. Oh wow! What a terrific job, Carolyn! Your joy in completing such a great make really shows too! 🙂 PS How’s your back? All better, I hope.

    • Thanks so much, Kathy! Yes, I’m pretty happy about this one, but then again, finishing a project is almost always a reason to celebrate, no? 🙂

      Thanks for asking about my back – it’s about 95% back to normal. I also think I figured out exactly what I had done to injure it (a specific way that I often sit), and needless to say I’m not doing that anymore!

  9. Hi Carolyn
    Your jacket looks great. I really like the blue polka dot one too. I have a question: Why did you decide to cut the 4 1/2″ off the length instead of doing view C? My daughter is thinking of making the view C of this pattern so I thought I’d ask. She has bought some rose printed velvet with hot pink lining! Should be fun. Just hope she can pull it off as although she’s sewn a few skirts and one lined dress, she is still a pretty novice sexist. This looks like quite a challenging project. Fingers crossed!

    • Hi Berene! The only reason I didn’t make View C was that I had already made all my pattern alterations to the longer version and didn’t want to re-trace the pattern and start from scratch. I figured cutting off some length would give me essentially the same result. If your daughter knows she wants the shorter length to begin with, I would say to just start with View C. Good luck and hope it turns out wonderfully! 🙂

Leave a Comment

