“Quilts and Color” at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts

Quilts and Color at the Boston MFAImage from the MFA Boston

I had the pleasure of visiting the new “Quilts and Color” exhibition at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts yesterday, and WOW was it amazing.  If you find yourself in the Boston area or within a reasonable driving distance, I would very highly recommend stopping by the museum to feast your eyes on this absolutely gorgeous, bold, and inspiring collection.  To say that I was blown away is an understatement.

I didn’t take any photos because they wouldn’t have done the quilts any justice whatsoever, and I didn’t want to spoil the exhibit for any of you who plan to visit.  However, I was so overwhelmed by the collection that I felt compelled to write a letter to the museum.  I think this accurately sums up my feelings about it:

To the Curator, collectors, and all those who contributed to the “Quilts and Color” exhibition:

I have visited the MFA many times since moving to Boston, but this is the first time I have felt compelled to write.

The new “Quilts and Color” exhibition was an absolute joy to experience. What a beautiful and unique collection! The quilts are truly masterpieces of hand stitching and color composition, and I spent a full two hours admiring the craftsmanship with my jaw hanging open in awe. It was a delight to stick my nose into every single quilt in the exhibit (as far as the guards would let me!) to inspect the stitching, and also to stand back and take in the entire piece as a whole. I left feeling exuberant and inspired.

My heartfelt thanks go to all those involved for a bold, unapologetic, and thoughtfully curated exhibit, and also for recognizing the work of these women as worthy of hanging on the MFA walls. You have brought so much joy to your visitors, as evidenced by the constant stream of “Wow!”, “Unbelievable!”, and “Breathtaking!” that I heard (and uttered!) during my visit.

With respect and gratitude,

Carolyn
Cambridge, MA

Trust me, this exhibit is a must-see.  : )

In other news, I am way behind on blogging but have been enjoying taking a little break from it.  I think I wore myself out with all those muslins!  Hopefully I’ll be back soon with updates on what I’ve been working on.  Hope you’re all doing well.  : )

 

Leave a Comment

