Initial impressions of Victory Patterns’ Simone dress

Victory Simone pattern and muslin - close up

It’s been a busy weekend!  I had hoped to get enough sewing done to share a meatier blog post with you today, but alas, I didn’t quite get there.  Oh well!  For now, I’ll give you a quick update with the promise of more to come in the next few days.  : )

Yesterday I went on a little sewing outing and picked up the Simone dress by Victory Patterns at Gather Here.  It was totally an impulse buy, but since I had been eyeing this pattern since last summer, I figured a spontaneous purchase was justified.  I spent most of my sewing time this weekend making a muslin, and although there are a handful of minor adjustments to make, I think a real Simone is indeed in my future.

Victory Simone pattern and muslinI also picked up a huge roll of tracing paper at Artist & Craftsman Supply, which felt like hitting the jackpot.  I’ve been buying my tracing paper there forever and never noticed the big rolls all the way in the back corner of the store.  Who knew??  Now I do, apparently.  : )  Thankfully, I found it just in time to trace the huge Simone skirt pieces.

Now, about this pattern.  I’m sure I’ll have much more to say about it as I work my way through the dress, but I do have a few initial comments.  This is my first time using Victory Patterns, and so far I’m really not impressed.  The instructions are shockingly bad.  Like, embarrassingly bad.  A large part of my job for the past 10 years has been publishing written documents, and this kind of work would easily get me fired.  It seems like the instructions were (a) poorly translated from another language and (b) not proofread at all.  Considering the steep price of this pattern ($20 US), I’m really disappointed in the quality.

I’m also not impressed with the pattern drafting.  I’ll have more to say about this later, but again, for the price of the pattern, I expect a well-drafted dress.  It doesn’t even seem to fit right on the model!

With that said, I do really like the design of the dress, which is why I bought it in the first place.  I think the cut will be flattering on me, and I think I have enough sewing experience at this point to get past the poor instructions and not-so-great drafting.

I’ve got a first draft of a muslin already, which you can see above, and I’ll plan to take some photos of me wearing it in the next few days, once I finish tweaking it.

Have you ever tried Victory Patterns?  What did you think of them?

 

6 thoughts on “Initial impressions of Victory Patterns’ Simone dress

  1. Excited to see how this goes since I’ve never used a Victory pattern before and it’s always great to see how it goes for a trusted sewing bud! I’ll be watching with interest! Good score on the tracing paper too, always good to find a cheap source of something you use METERS of!

    • Yeah, I’m curious to see how this goes too! I’m not expecting perfection on this dress based on my initial experience with the muslin, but hopefully it’ll be a comfortable, wearable piece.

  2. I’ve been eyeing up this pattern since last summer, too! The only reason I haven’t bought it is because of other people’s comments about the instructions and fit. I’m really interested to see how it turns out for you!

    • Yeah, I wish I had done some research before making the purchase. I guess that’s what I get for an impulse buy! But even so, I’m really surprised and disappointed with the quality, especially for an expensive indie pattern. We’ll see how the dress turns out in the end… fingers crossed. 🙂

  3. ooohhh! I’ll be very interested to hear your review of the Simone. I’ve only seen a couple of them on the interwebs (like Lladybird’s) so I’ll be keen to hear how you find it. I haven’t made any Victory patterns myself but I have been eyeing up her Roxanne blouse 🙂

    • There are hardly any Simone’s out there! Literally I think I found less than 5 finished dresses/tops in a Google search. We’ll see how it goes with my dress – I’m cautiously optimistic, but I’m hesitant to recommend Victory Patterns so far.

Leave a Comment

