Renfrew #10: Pink stripes for spring

Spring striped Renfrew - finished

I’ve got a fever, and the only prescription is more Renfrews!  (And yeah, more cowbell couldn’t hurt either.)   Do not ask me why I keep making the same pattern over and over again (10 times, to be exact).  Do not ask me why I don’t try out all the other great t-shirt patterns out there.  Just accept my addiction to the beloved Renfrew and move on, ok?  : )

Spring striped Renfrew - front

Spring striped Renfrew - back

Project Stats:

Pattern: Um, the Renfrew.

Fabric: Neon pink and gray striped cotton blend jersey from Grey’s Fabric and Notions.  (BTW, Sarah is so friendly and helpful!  I highly recommend this shop if you find yourself in the Boston area.)

Modifications: Oh man, I don’t even remember at this point!  The only new mod for this version was that I scooped out the neckline a bit – see below for details.

Level of crafty satisfaction: I’ve got a fever… oh wait, we covered that already.  : )

Wanna see all 10 of my Renfrews?  Just click right here or check out my Finished Project Gallery.

Spring striped Renfrew - neckline detail

So, the neckline.  I’ve been wanting to lower the scoop neckline (View A) for a while now, and I finally mustered up the courage to give it a try.  I re-drew the curve 3/8 inch wider at the shoulders and 2 inches lower at the center front.  It took a few tries to get a curve that I was happy with, but it seemed to work out well in the end.

Spring striped Renfrew - neckline modification

That part was easy.  The harder part was adjusting the length of the neckband piece to match my new neckline.  The neckband is shorter than the neckline because you stretch it out as you sew it, but how much shorter did I need to make it?  I wasn’t brave enough to just cut a really long strip and stretch it out as I sewed, so I went for a little math instead.  Hey, I’m a trained engineer, ok?  : )

Essentially, I calculated the ratio of the original neckline length to the original neckband length.  Then I measured my new neckline length, and used the ratio to calculate my new neckband length.  I did the calculations separately for the front and back portions of the neckline, and all measurements were taken excluding seam allowances.

If you’d like more detail on what I did, just let me know.  I’d be happy to do a separate post if there’s interest.  It’s all simple algebra, but I admit that it had me scratching my head for a minute there!

Spring striped Renfrew - with blazer

Sadly it’s still too cold in Boston to wear these elbow-length sleeves, but I’m officially done sewing winter garments and have moved onto brighter, happier, lighter pieces.  Will it ever warm up around here?  Maybe.  Thankfully I’ll have a cute shirt to wear just in case.  : )

Have you ever made a pattern a bazillion times?  If so, what was it?  Share your craziness with us!

7 thoughts on “Renfrew #10: Pink stripes for spring

  1. I do! I have made the McCalls 6654 a kazillion, billion times in every single variation! I think this version of the Renfrew is the best and might be the one that makes me buy the pattern. I love the neckline and where the sleeves hit your elbow. it is exactly what I’m looking for.

    • Oh man, that looks like such a comfortable and versatile skirt, especially for summer! And I’m glad I’m not only one addicted to certain patterns. 🙂

      I would highly recommend the Renfrew, but be warned that the version you’re seeing here is the result of probably a dozen minor modifications. The original neckline is higher (although it might sit lower on most people than on me – I’m 5’8″), and the original 3/4 sleeves are lower (below the elbow) and wider/looser. The pattern is pretty easy to modify though, so I’d still recommend experimenting with it to get the exact fit you’re looking for.

Leave a Comment

