I’m back on Ravelry!

Ravelry projects screen shot

For some reason the knitting bug has bitten me lately, and so I decided to resurrect my old Ravelry account.  After forgetting my username, password, *and* email that I had used for the account, I finally managed to re-activate myself.  And look what I discovered!  All my old knitting projects from several years ago, complete with photos of me looking much younger, ha.  Funny how time flies.  : )  Apparently I didn’t knit anything all that exciting, but it was fun to be reminded of my old, much-beloved projects.

Deep texture tunic by Melissa Wehrle

Perhaps the biggest and most delightful surprise was my Deep Texture Tunic by Melissa Wehrle, published in the Winter 2009 (!!) edition of Interweave Knits.  I had completely forgotten about this sweater, and I’ve never even worn it!  I almost can’t believe I put so much effort into knitting a dress-length sweater only to bury it in a drawer somewhere.  What a shame!

I really like this style of sweater (and fell in love with it as soon as I saw the pattern), and now that I’ve re-discovered it and un-earthed it from the depths of my apartment, I’m determined to actually wear it out of the house.

Deep texture tunic 2

Look at these ridiculous photos I had taken of the sweater!  I’m standing on a step stool in front of my bathroom mirror, with the seam of the mirror and the camera both clearly in view, not to mention my towels and shaving cream.  Geez!  I’d like to think I’ve gotten a little better at blog photography since then.  : )

Deep texture tunic 1But ignoring the awfulness of the photos, I actually really like how this sweater came out.  It’s 100% wool and very warm and cozy, complete with extra long sleeves for my giraffe-like arms.  The super long length was more on trend a few years ago than it is now, but I think I can still pull it off.  I played around with styling it in front of the mirror tonight, and I’m planning on wearing it to work tomorrow as a mini-dress with forest green tights and boots.  I’ll be sure to take some photos of the finished outfit… and NOT in my bathroom this time!

If you’d like, you can check out my Ravelry notes on this project, as well as my Ravelry profile — I’m AllspiceAbounds.  I’ve also added a button to the sidebar.  Come be my knitting friend!

3 thoughts on “I’m back on Ravelry!

Leave a Comment

