Preparing to host a sewing class

Supplies for sewing class

This past week has been an absolute whirlwind as I prepare to host my first sewing class… and judging by the amount of work involved, it may be my last!  I don’t know how full-time teachers (of any craft, or subject for that matter) manage to keep up.  I’ve certainly been having fun with it, but I haven’t managed to do anything else all week except work, eat, sleep, and prepare for this class.  Phew!

The class is a little volunteer thing I’m putting together for the winter break at my university.  Any graduate student can volunteer to teach/host/create any type of class they want, and I thought it might be fun to host a one-time sewing class.  The class is sponsored by the university, so I’m not getting paid, and the students don’t have to pay to take the class.  In theory, no pressure!  In reality, I’ve been a little stressed out.  : )

Since there isn’t enough funding for sewing machines, we’ll be doing a bunch of simple hand sewing activities, from sewing on buttons to catch stitching a hem.  I thought it might be useful for people who don’t know how to sew but want to stop paying the local dry cleaner to have pants hemmed.  I’ve gotten a good response in sign-ups, so I guess the idea was a good one.

Purple fabrics in embroidery hoops

The thing is… i’ve never actually taught anyone how to sew before!  I mean, I’ve taught 2 or 3 people how to sew a button back on, but that’s about it.  We’ll see how it goes in front of a room full of PhD students.  : )

The photos above show a snapshot of the supplies I’ve been putting together and some decorations I made for the door to the room.   What you don’t see is the HEAP of stuff accumulating in my apartment, not to mention the step-by-step instructions I’ve been typing up, complete with color photos for each step.

I am exhausted.

But, I am excited too.  This was certainly a challenging project for me, and I’m curious to see how it all works out.  Wish me luck!  I hope to write up a post after the class (later this week) to digest it all.

Hope you all had a good week!

13 thoughts on “Preparing to host a sewing class

  1. Good luck! I bet students would really benefit from a class like this– I’m sure their budgets are tight and they might not have the spare cash to pay for someone else to hem their pants! It does sound like a lot of work, though– hope it goes well!

  2. I have taught a few friends to sew at my house on my machine. One friend made a tote and a bucket hat, my other 2 friends made ear phone pouches. I found it more rewarding than teaching first year chemistry!

  3. Teaching really is rewarding, when you’re sharing your passion. I’m sure your students will gain a lot from it, that your enthusiasm will rub off onto them, and they’ll go home fired up to try their new-found skills out on other projects! I love the kits you’ve put together for them.

    Good luck with it. I’m looking forward to you posting about it.

  4. Good luck!! It’s just been confirmed that I’m going to be taking my first ever sewing classes as well! There is so much involved, but at least I’ve got until the beginning of March to sort everything out. If you have any hints and tips I’d love to hear them!

    • Oooh, congrats, that’s exciting news! Best of luck preparing! I’ll be sure to share my experience after the class… hopefully with some lessons learned. : )

  5. Best of luck! It is a bit scary to teach for the first time, but you’ll do fine. I was also a bit nervous when I taught my first student how to make an A-line skirt. We had some hiccups, but all went really well. I guess I had to remember that I’m not perfect and don’t know everything!

Leave a Comment

