Teal Renfrew and simple infinity scarf

Sewaholic Renfrew 9 teal v-neck and infinity scarf - unwrapped

I managed to squeeze out two final projects in 2013: a teal V-neck Renfrew and a simple infinity scarf.  Both were super quick projects, and I sewed them both start-to-finish (including cutting) last Saturday.  Phew!  It took me the entire day, but since I’m on vacation for the holidays, I didn’t mind.  : )

Sewaholic Renfrew 9 teal v-neck - front

For those of you keeping track, this is my 9th Renfrew.  I never thought I’d sew a pattern 9 times, but there you go!  These tops are so versatile, comfortable, and easy to sew, and I wind up wearing one 3-4 times a week.

I got this luscious bamboo/organic cotton jersey at Gather Here, after eyeing it in the jersey bin for no less than 3 previous visits to the shop.  After waiting so long to finally pick some up, I wound up getting the very last cut on the bolt.  It was about 1.25 yards, and I *just barely* managed to squeeze this top out.  I think I had about 1/4 inch left along the lengthwise grain – holy crap, it was close!!  The fabric is really soft with a great drape.  I’m so happy with the color and hand, probably because I purchased it in person instead of taking a wild guess online.  Gotta try to buy more jersey in person – they’re all so different!

Sewaholic Renfrew 9 teal v-neck - back

For the top itself, I used my tried-and-true pattern pieces with all the adjustments I’ve made over the course of the previous 8 tops.  If I recall correctly, I added length in the waist and sleeves, and I graded quite a few sizes down from the shoulders to the waist.  My torso is the classic example of an inverted triangle.  Le sigh.

Sewaholic Renfrew 9 teal v-neck - detail at point

I made the V-neck specifically because I wanted to wear this top with a contrasting scarf.  And look at that V!  It’s not perfect, but I’m pretty happy with how it came out.  Get this: I purchased matching teal thread specifically for topstitching around the neckline, and then I totally forgot to switch thread colors when I got to that part!  I had been using navy thread for construction, and I didn’t want to unpick the neckline and risk screwing it up.  I don’t think the navy stands out too much though… but now I have a full spool of teal thread for another project, ha.

Cotton voile infinity scarf - close up

The scarf is made from a lovely cotton voile that I also picked up at Gather Here.  I’m sure there are about a million tutorials out there on how to sew an infinity scarf, but I decided to be stubborn and just figure it out myself.  How hard could it be, right?  HAHA.  I totally screwed it up and had to basically re-do the whole thing.  I won’t try to explain it here because I’d probably just confuse everyone, but essentially it’s a big 3/4 yard rectangle, folded in half lengthwise and sewn into a loop.

Cotton voile infinity scarf - flat

Here it is laying flat on my couch.  See, nothing fancy!

Cotton voile infinity scarf - folded

And here you can see how it’s a big double-sided loop.  I just scrunch it up and wrap it around my neck once or twice, depending on whether I want to wear it long or short.

Sewaholic Renfrew 9 teal v-neck and infinity scarf - wrappedAnd voila!  Two super simple projects to round out my first full year of sewing.  And even better, two garments that easily fit into my everyday wardrobe and actually match with other garments I’ve made.  Not bad at all.  : )

Happy New Year, everyone!  I’m off to a homemade feast and some Scandinavian “mulled winter beverage.”  YUM.

Leave a Comment

