2013 Year In Review: Inspirations and Goals

Top 5 of 2013

Rounding out my 2013 year in review posts, today I’ll share some sewing inspirations and goals for the new year.

Sewing Inspirations

Like all of us, I get inspired by all the amazing projects that we share with each other on our blogs and social media sites, and I listed a handful of my recent favorites in this post: “Sewing projects to swoon over.”  And yes, I still find myself swooning over them almost two months later!  I get inspired by practical/functional garments that fit into everyday life, and also by fabulous over-the-top pieces that are completely impractical but drop-dead gorgeous.  You’ll find both on that list.  : )

Sewing Goals for 2014 (in general terms)

As for sewing goals for the new year, I purposely didn’t make a hard and fast list because I don’t want to put any pressure on myself to sew something that I might not be in the mood for later.  I like to choose my projects on the fly – a big part of what makes sewing so enjoyable for me.  So instead of saying “I want to sew a pair of pants” or “I want to sew something in silk or lace” (both of which I totally want to do, BTW!), I’ll set a few general goals instead.

Most importantly, I want to sew garments that fit into my everyday lifestyle, make me proud of my sewing accomplishments and growth, and make me feel fashionable and put-together.  If I can check all three of these boxes with each garment I make, I’ll be happy.  : )  I’m definitely getting better at this, slowly but surely, so hopefully this goal won’t be too difficult to achieve.

Another overarching goal is to strike a good balance between pushing the limits of my sewing knowledge (learning new techniques, taking on challenging projects, etc.) and cranking out basic t-shirts and skirts that I can wear to the lab.  I’m not sure how I’m going to tackle this, but it’s something I plan to keep in the back of my mind.

My sewing space

My portable / collapsible sewing “studio” could use some improvement!

And finally, I want to think about making some sewing-related investments.  Notice how I didn’t say that I actually want to make them, but I want to at least seriously consider them.  (If I had the money, much less thinking would be required, ha!)  I’ve been tossing around the idea of buying a serger (who hasn’t?) and investing in a decent camera and tripod for the blog.  I’ve also been thinking about getting a good quality dressform and some other additions to my sewing “studio” (aka my plastic folding table), like more permanent furniture and organizational pieces.  Of course I’m limited by space and money, but since I’ve been consistently excited about sewing for a while now, I want to consider investing in my hobby a bit more.

Final Thoughts

I’ve really enjoyed putting together these year in review posts, and even more so, I’ve tremendously enjoyed reading all of yours!  It’s wonderful to look back on a productive and fun year of sewing, take pride in the successes, and have a good laugh at the failures.  After all, if you can’t laugh at yourself, you’re missing out on some pretty funny stuff, am I right?  : )

Many thanks to Gillian for hosting the year in review series.

I wish you all a very happy and healthy new year.  Can’t wait to see all of your fabulous new creations!

Leave a Comment

