Finished skirt and broken camera

Caramel a-line skirt previewI’ve got good news and bad news today, folks.  The good news is that I finished my caramel A-line skirt (Simplicity 1717) – woo hoo!  You can *kind of* see it in the photo above.  The bad news is that the photo above is the only photo I managed to take of this skirt, since my crappy old camera has finally died a miserable death.  So, a proper photo shoot will have to wait for another day.  Booo!

In the meantime, I have the following things to say about this roller coaster of a project:

  • The fit of this skirt is not “amazing,” despite it being part of Simplicity’s Amazing Fit line.
  • I spent four hours on Saturday unpicking seams, re-cutting pattern pieces, and putting it all back together… and I managed to upgrade the skirt from “awful” to “passable.”
  • Such a simple skirt shouldn’t have caused me so much grief!

Blargh!  I’m satisfied with the final fit, but there is definitely room for improvement.  I’ll get into all the details once I can take some decent photos.  For now, at least I have another static-free, neutral colored skirt to wear to work… and that makes me happy.  : )

I promise I’ll be back with a substitute camera soon… bear with me!

Leave a Comment

