The minimalist guide to stress-free craft blogging

I think I take a pretty laid-back approach to my blog in that I treat it solely as an extension of my hobby and an enjoyable way to spend my free time.  I have no desire to turn sewing into a career or gain a large following of potential customers or students.  If you think about it, taking this approach is extremely freeing, and it allows me to have fun with my blog without any worry or stress about what I should be doing.  I just do whatever I want.  : )

To keep things under control, I have a handful of self-imposed blogging rules that I think have served me well over the two years that I’ve had this little blog.  They’re simple and straightforward, and they’re surprisingly effective at keeping this blog firmly on the “life” side of my work/life balance.  If you take a similar approach with your blog, I hope you find my little guidelines useful.

The Minimalist Guide to Stress-Free Craft Blogging

1 – Blog because you love it.  If you don’t love it, don’t do it.

My blog is supposed to be fun and make me happy.  If for whatever reason I’m not feeling the bloggy vibe, I can take a break for as long as I want.  No big deal.

2 – Don’t treat your blog as your business (unless it actually IS your business).

Since my blog isn’t paying my rent, and I have no intention of trying to make that happen, I don’t let myself worry about the business-related aspects of blogging.  It takes time and effort to generate traffic, generate income (through ads or selling products), and brand yourself.  I’m not getting paid for my time, so I just don’t worry about this stuff.  Really.

3 – Set realistic expectations for yourself and your blog, and stick to them.

I purposefully don’t go out of my way to make this blog a masterpiece.  I’d rather spend that time on my sewing projects!  I don’t stress about professional-looking photos and just use whatever camera I happen to have.  I write in a conversational tone and don’t worry about crafting beautiful prose.  I don’t pour my time and energy into writing and photographing drool-worthy tutorials or coming up with brilliant project ideas.  And I don’t spend any money on this blog.  My disposable income is for fabric!

4 – Keep your blog current.

I try very hard not to accumulate a backlog of unblogged projects because, frankly, it stresses me out!  The backlog starts to seems like work, and this blog is not my work.  If I do find myself behind, I’ll catch up in one post with just a few sentences about each project, and I move on.  Simple as that.  Besides, it’s more fun talking about what’s going on right now anyway.

5 – Get involved in the online community, but don’t over-commit yourself.

I have a handful of social media accounts that I enjoy maintaining because they let me interact with other awesome crafters, but I limit my time investment and don’t stress over my online presence.  No one is paying me to keep up a full collection of Pinterest, Twitter, Facebook, BurdaStyle, and Kollabora accounts.  And it’s a lot of work to keep them up!  So I just do what feels comfortable, and leave it at that.

Final Thoughts

This minimalist approach to craft blogging certainly won’t make me a blogging superstar, propel my site to the top of the crafting world, or land me a book deal.  But I’m ok with that.  In fact, I prefer to keep this site small and comfy, like a little couch I can curl up on when I’m relaxing with a cup of coffee and a lemon ginger scone.  I don’t need any blogging-related stress… I have a full-time job for that.  : )

Do you take a minimalist approach with your blog, or do your stats keep you up at night?  : )

Leave a Comment

