A chance encounter with a fellow sewist

Colette Beignet in navy twill - full outfitGuess what happened to me yesterday…

I wore this outfit to a full-day work event during which I was up in front of the room for a bit.  During lunch, a woman came up to me and asked, “Did you make your skirt?”

And if that wasn’t cool enough, she followed up with, “Because I’m currently making the same one!”

How awesome is that??  : )

Not only was I excited to meet a fellow sewist (and who isn’t, really), but it was such a coincidence that she happened to be sewing a Beignet as well.  We proceeded to have a big conversation about sewing (and knitting), which easily became one of the highlights of my day.

This got me wondering: how popular are Colette patterns (and indie patterns in general) in the sewing world, compared to other/Big 4 patterns?  I noticed that adding my photos of this skirt to the Colette Flickr group garnered more than twice as many views as some of my other project photos, but perhaps that’s due to the relative lack of a sewing presence on Flickr, with the exception of specific groups like the Colette one.

I also think I’ve spied a few Cambie dresses walking around the streets of Boston… but I’ve never said, “Hey, that’s a Butterick 5353!”

Maybe it’s just because there are so many fewer indie patterns than Big 4, and the indie designers tend to get a lot more exposure/support in the online sewing community, so they’re easily recognizable?

Anyway, my philosophical musings aside, it was really fun to meet a fellow sewist (and fellow sewing scientist, for that matter) and share our thoughts about the same skirt pattern.  Have you ever randomly run into someone sewing the same garment as you?  And if so, did you high-five them?  I totally should have done that.  : )

2 thoughts on “A chance encounter with a fellow sewist

Leave a Comment

