Quick and easy handmade slip

Handmade slip - front

I had been recently lamenting the fact that my handmade summer skirts are no longer wearable now that it’s tights weather, since the cotton fabric sticks to my tights and rides up as I walk.  I tried using  a store-bought slip with them last winter, which was a total disaster.  That was 25 bucks right down the drain!  I also thought about adding a slippery lining to the skirts, but I like them to be lining-free in the summer.  So what’s a girl to do?

I made my own slip!  Woo hoo!!  And let me tell you, this thing is awesome.  Awesome characteristics include the following:

  • Total cost was less than $5.
  • Total construction time, from start to finish, was about an hour and a half.
  • The slip is totally static-free, at least based on my first day of wear.

I can’t believe I didn’t do this last winter!  What was I waiting for??

Handmade slip - elastic close up

I used Tasia’s slip-making tutorial, which is basically a recipe for calculating what size rectangle to cut out.  I cut a rectangle 43 inches wide by 19.5 inches long, and I used some leftover polyester lining fabric from my blue blazer.  I hemmed the top edge of the slip by folding over 1/2 inch twice and topstitching it down.  Then I cut a piece of black 1/4 inch elastic to my waist measurement, sewed the ends together, and attached it to the top of the slip with a zig-zag stitch.  Easy!

I noticed that my elastic didn’t quite spring back to its original length after I attached it, so the waist wound up being too big.  To fix it, I just made a pleat at each side seam (in the photo above), pinching enough fabric until it fit right.  I wonder if it’ll fully spring back in the wash?  If so, I can just unpick the pleats.

Handmade slip - hem close up

I hemmed the bottom the same way as the top – folding over 1/2 inch twice and topstitching.  Nothing fancy.  After all, who’s going to see it?  : )  I did double-check the length of the slip against the skirts I wanted to wear it with, just to make sure the slip was a few inches shorter.

Handmade slip - side

You can see one of the side-seam pleats in this photo.  No big deal, as far as I’m concerned.  They do add a little bulk when wearing the slip with an actual skirt, but not enough to bother me.  I basically have zero hips, so the extra little bit is fine with me!

Handmade slip - back

The only modification I’d like to make (for next time?) is to add a little more ease at the hem.  I noticed that the bottom of the slip is a little tight when I’m doing my “fast city walk” ** or going up stairs.  I’m thinking about adding a vent at the center back or just cutting a wider rectangle to start with.

Handmade slip - on hangerIf you are in need of a slip and haven’t attempted to make your own, I’d very highly recommend it!  It was so easy and works so much better than crappy store-bought slips.  I was concerned that this polyester fabric wouldn’t work as well at eliminating static as Bemberg rayon, for example, but it seems to be working just fine.  At $2.50 per yard, you can’t beat it!

This might just be the quickest and most functional sewing project I’ve completed thus far.  : )

** Now that walking is my primary mode of transportation, I classify walks into “strolls” and “fast city walks,” the former being for pleasure, and the latter for hauling ass to get somewhere.  The fast walk is characterized by long strides and frequent eye rolls at slow-moving people in my way.  Ha.

Leave a Comment

