Life-changing career moves

The day I quit my job

It feels like I’ve been hearing a lot lately about sewists taking the plunge and making sewing/crafting their part-time or full-time job… and I couldn’t be more excited for them.  Lately I’ve read about Lynne opening a re-styling/re-purposing shop, Tilly and Lauren quitting their day jobs for craft-related endeavors, and Erin planning her move to full-time crafting after she finishes her PhD.  And I’m sure there are many more out there!

While I have no plans or desire to make crafting my bread-and-butter career, I can absolutely relate to wanting to feel passionate about your job and being fulfilled by your work on a daily basis.  To those of you diving in head first, I say go for it!!  I’m sure it will make all the difference for you.  : )

The photo above was taken in 2010 on the day I quit my old job, and I love how it captures the feeling of freedom and excitement that I was feeling about diving into a new chapter of my life.  Granted, my new career is in academia and has nothing to do with sewing/crafting, but I felt the same sense of euphoria that I’m seeing in other sewing bloggers lately.  I love it!

I’m a firm believer that enjoying your life on a daily basis is extremely important to one’s overall mental, emotional, and physical health.  We spend the majority of our waking hours at work, so we had better enjoy it, right?  I don’t expect work to be my favorite place to be or my favorite way to spend my time, but being bored/miserable at work is simply not an option for me.  I have to feel passionate about it in one way or another, and that’s exactly how I feel now that I’m back in graduate school.

Anyway, I just wanted to recognize and congratulate these very inspired, creative, and brave women who are taking the plunge and following their passion.  Here’s to new careers and many exciting opportunities to come!  : )

Have you made a life-changing career move, whether related to crafting or not?  Tell us about it!

6 thoughts on “Life-changing career moves

  1. All I can say is thank you for this post. I’m so happy that you’ve found something that lights your passion and I couldn’t agree more that being bored/miserable at work is emotionally and physically exhausting. I’m in that position at the moment, having finished my job and wondering what’s next. You’ve given me a nudge in the right direction, so thank you. These types of heart felt posts are always welcome. 🙂

    • Aww, you’re welcome Kat! Figuring out where to go next is always such a tough decision and involves so many variables, not least of which are financial ones, but being miserable for a good paycheck isn’t any fun. Good luck and hope you find something inspiring! Are you staying in academia?

  2. I’m not sure of the exact quote but the sentiment is that if you are lucky to find a job you love then you will never have “worked” a day in your life. I was lucky to have “that job”, but I was able to retire with max benefits, so I did- it was time. I’m being a bit philosophical here, but life is short and you need to be an advocate for yourself and your well-being. There is a great sense of excitement with taking on a new challenge in life. Carpe Dieum!

    • Well said, Ellen! I completely agree that you have to be your own advocate in life, both in your career and in nearly every other aspect as well. Glad to hear you enjoyed your dream job for so long and that retirement has worked out well for you – we should all be so lucky! I assume you have lots more time for sewing now. 🙂

  3. Yes, I have; thank you for asking: an opportunity to create a 14-week course at a Queens, NY university. I’m lit up about it and grateful for many other blessings in my life that aren’t career-based. I have had many changes in careers in my life over the last 30+ years since I graduated with my B.A. (obtaining my MA nearly 20 years ago). I used to accept society’s “rule” that there’s something wrong with people who don’t keep the same job. This new opportunity, which may develop into a Ph.D. eventually, will bring the experience I obtained at all my other jobs into a nice, new package. If other people don’t approve, that’s “over there” with them.

    • Congrats Sophia, that sounds like such an exciting opportunity! Good luck and have fun with it! I think the idea of staying at the same job for your entire career is fading quickly, as more people hop around and develop a more well-rounded resume. I used to think I would have the same job forever, but clearly that hasn’t been the case!

Leave a Comment

