Renfrew #5: rockin’ the magenta tie-dye

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - front

This is definitely my favorite Renfrew of the bunch.  I love love LOVE this bright magenta tie-dyed jersey, and I think I finally nailed the fit.  Woo hoo, t-shirt fabulousness achieved!  : )  This top is perfect for all kinds of exciting occasions, such as being furloughed during a government shutdown, being a guest on Martha Stewart’s daytime tv show, or meeting Jason Bateman… you know, because that’s been a dream of mine since I was 12.  Just sayin’.  : )

Jason Bateman

Anyway, lots more photos below (of my t-shirt, not Jason Bateman).  Enjoy!

1201_Sewaholic_Renfrew_Envelope_Front

Project Stats:

Pattern: Sewaholic Renfrew, with cowl neck (View C) and long sleeves (View A).

Fabric: Luscious magenta tie-dyed 100% cotton jersey from Mood.

Modifications: Who knows at this point!  Most likely about a 10 in the shoulders and a 6 everywhere else, with length added at the waist and in the sleeves.

Level of crafty satisfaction: LOVE IT.  Can I please wear this top everyday forever and ever?  : )

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - close up

Here’s a close up of the color and speckling – do you love it or what???  I really like how the collar has flashes of white, which contrast nicely against the mostly-pink front.  I’m totally taking the credit for this since I put a little thought into placing the pattern pieces while I was cutting.  I’m high-fiving myself right now.  : )

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - right side

Look at this fit!  It only took five iterations of this pattern for me to finally be happy with the fit.  ONLY five.  I’m telling myself that this is totally normal.

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - back

The coloration on the back is significantly whiter than the front.  I was debating whether to put this piece on the front or back of the top, and after a little deliberation, the back won.  I didn’t want the top to be too crazy looking from the front, but I figured a little “business in the front, party in the back” never hurt.  I dig it!

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - left side

Oh, and please excuse my still half wet, totally unstyled hair in these photos.  Blog photoshoots with my hair and makeup done are pretty rare, and here you’re seeing me after work with “quick-shower-after-the-gym” hair.  My natural hair is essentially a white-lady afro in the worst possible way.  But alas, that is a story for another day.

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - hooray it's finished

Hooray, a new shirt!  I’m having a hard time conveying just how happy I am with this garment.  Can you feel my excitement?  Can you hear my delighted giggling?

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - cowl half way up

I couldn’t resist doing the traditional Renfrew cowl neck poses.  Half way up with eyes peeking out…

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - cowl all the way up

… and now all the way up.  If you’ve never made the cowl neck version of this top before, the collar is huge.  And since it’s a double layer, it eats up a ton of fabric.  I barely squeezed this top out of the 1.5 yards I had purchased.  Barely!!

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - neckline stitching detail

I used white thread for all the seams, including the topstitching around the neck.  I debated switching to pink so the stitching wouldn’t stand out so much, but I had run out of pink thread.  Haha, of course that would happen.  I think the white looks fine though.  You can definitely see it, but I think it’s ok.

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - hem stitching detail

Unlike my previous versions, I decided to try topstitching along the waistband as well.  I like the idea of not having to fuss with the seam allowance flipping back and forth on the inside of the top, and I like the flat finish on the outside.  I did get a little bit of a rippled seam after topstitching here, but a quick press made it passable.  We’ll see how it holds up after going through the wash.

Sewaholic Renfrew 5 tie dyed - a little attitudeNow you know I had to inject a little attitude into this photoshoot.  RAWR.  : )  Full disclosure: there may or may not be a picture of me grabbing my ass that didn’t quite make it into this post.  Maybe I’ll send that one to Jason Bateman?  Wait, no, the hair…. oh crap.

Anyway, I’m totally thrilled with this top.  The fabric, the fit, the style… I love all of it!  It’s super casual for everyday wear (exactly the kind of thing I can comfortably wear to work), but I could probably dress it up a bit for dinner or drinks too.  Since finishing this top, I’ve seen a handful of women wearing chic tie-dyed tops on the street, so I hopefully I haven’t gone too Woodstock with this print.  Well, even if I have, I’ll be wearing it anyway.  : )

Another t-shirt into the drawer!

2 thoughts on “Renfrew #5: rockin’ the magenta tie-dye

Leave a Comment

