Handmade items out in the wild

Blazer in the lab 1

The other day at work I had a little down time and discreetly snapped a few photos of myself wearing my new blue polka dot blazer.  How exciting to see handmade garments out in the wild!  The fact that I’m taking photos of my outfits at work probably makes me a little crazy, but hey, you already knew that right?  : )

Blazer in the lab 2

I’ve been wearing the blazer a lot lately as a light jacket for chilly mornings and over-air-conditioned days at work, and it’s been working out quite nicely.  I feel very sophisticated wearing it, and I am pretty much constantly giggling to myself and feeling so smug knowing that I made it.  Ha.  Do you giggle to yourself when wearing handmade garments?  If not, you totally should.  It’s so fun!

Fungi embroidery in the lab

And look what’s hanging proudly on the wall next to my desk.  It’s my beloved fungi embroidery, a delightful homage to the furry creatures that will one day give me a PhD.  Well, they’d better give me a PhD someday.  Are you listening, fungi?  I’m not getting any younger, you know…

Blazer in the lab 3So there you have it — a little handmade goodness at work to keep me going throughout the day.   A few cups of coffee don’t hurt either.  : )

P.S. – I also made my earrings!  I’ll have to do a post about them one day.

3 thoughts on “Handmade items out in the wild

  1. Hey! You’re a scientist too! How come I haven’t picked up on this yet??!! Are you a mycologist? There seem to be lots of scientist seamstresses around!

Leave a Comment

