A refreshingly quick skirt (in progress)

Burgundy skirt for Mom - in progress - front close up

My parents came up to Boston for a visit last week, and after my Mom saw me wearing my floral pleated skirt, she not-so-subtley requested one of her own.  : )  The pattern is Butterick 5613, and I’ve already made four skirts from this pattern, including two pleated ones.  Since my floral skirt fit my Mom almost perfectly, I just used my old pattern pieces with only one alteration: a few inches added to the hem.  Easy peasy!  It’s been so refreshing to work on such a quick project after the blazer marathon.  I need some instant gratification!

Burgundy skirt for Mom - in progress - back close up

The fabric is a simple Kona cotton in a deep burgundy shade (deeper than the color you see in these photos; it was hard to capture accurately).  You can see above that the skirt is almost complete at this point — the waistband and facing pieces are in, and the invisible zipper is installed.  WOW did that invisible zipper foot make a HUGE difference!  That baby went in like a dream, in about 10 minutes flat!  A perfect zipper installation on the first try!  Needless to say, I was pretty excited about that.  : )

Burgundy skirt for Mom - in progressI still have to hand-tack the waistband facing to the zipper tape and hem the bottom of the skirt, but I predict this project will be finished by the weekend.  So quick and satisfying!  After the hem is complete, I’ll give the skirt a good press to really crease all the pleats (unlike the wrinkly mess you see above).  Then it’ll be shipped off to my Mom for her wearing enjoyment!

Stay tuned for finished project shots… and my upcoming adventures in jersey.  Oh baby.

2 thoughts on “A refreshingly quick skirt (in progress)

    • Hopefully she’ll like it! : ) The color is deeper than in these photos; I’ll try to capture it properly in the finished project shots. It’s very “fall.”

Leave a Comment

