Cutting and interfacing and ironing, oh my!

Blazer pieces 1

This blazer is turning out to be quite an odyssey… and I haven’t even sewn a single seam yet!  I finally finished cutting out all the pieces and applying all the interfacing, and man, that took forever.  I didn’t keep track of the time super closely, but I think it was somewhere around 8 hours.  Yup, EIGHT HOURS to cut and interface.  Am I crazy, or is that a really long-ass time??  All I can say is that this f-ing blazer had better be fabulous after all this work, geez!!

Blazer pieces 2

I’ve got all the navy polka dot outer pieces done, including fully interfacing the front and front facing pieces, which include the lapels.  The rest of the outer pieces have strips of interfacing at the shoulder, hem, and sleeve cuff to give the blazer some extra structure.  This was one of the pattern’s “amazing” tips.  Honestly, I think whoever wrote this pattern went a little overboard with their use of the word “amazing,” but that’s what you get from a mass-produced Big 4 pattern I guess!

On a side note, I noticed that one of my RTW blazers has interfacing at the shoulders and sleeve cuffs, so I guess this is what the professionals do after all.  Does this mean that someone at Simplicity actually sews??  Go figure!

I decided to do a little peek-a-boo pink for the pockets, which will hopefully be a fun detail.

For the lining, I’m using an inexpensive polyester lining fabric in black.  Not very exciting, but the price was right.  Since I had never worked with slippery fabric before, I used this tip over at A Fashionable Stitch, which essentially involves pinning your slippery fabric to muslin to stabilize it while cutting.  As Sunni claims, it worked like magic.  MAGIC, I tell you!  No slipping or sliding whatsoever.  Now that is what I call “amazing,” haha.

Maggie supervising blazer cuttingAs usual, Maggie did an excellent job of supervising the entire cutting and interfacing adventure.  Also as usual, she felt the need to deposit her beautiful white fur all over my navy fabric.  Oh cats.  : )  Luckily I keep a lint roller (the masking tape kind) close by for just such occasions.

One final note: I think applying interfacing is one of my least favorite parts of sewing.  Why does it take so long??  The instructions say to leave the iron on each area for 30 seconds, so basically I just sit there and wait, occasionally moving the iron 4 inches over to the next spot.  I spent a solid two hours just on interfacing, not including cutting out the interfacing pieces in the first place.  Blargh!!

Ok, enough complaining.  : )  This is supposed to be fun, remember?  I’m getting pretty excited to start sewing, but I think I need to go for a little walk or something after all that cutting and ironing.  Perhaps something involving coffee.  Mmmmmm….

Have you ever spent such a long time just on cutting and interfacing?  Please tell me I’m not the only one!

Leave a Comment

