Tree of Life Embroidery, version 2 – finished!

Tree of Life Embroidery - versions 1 and 2 together

My second Tree of Life Embroidery is finally finished!  Above you can see Version 2 alongside the original, larger, and more colorful Version 1 (blogged here).  Not a bad pair.  : )  This June has been so busy and crazy that crafting time has essentially evaporated, but I managed to crank out this small project on a series of flights and layovers this past weekend.  Yay for forced downtime!

The pattern is from Polka and Bloom, a great Etsy shop with a variety of really colorful and intricate embroidery patterns.  I enjoyed this one so much that I stitched it twice!  Enough said.  : )

Below are some not-so-great photos that attempt to show the details of the stitching.  My apologies once again for my super crappy camera.  Perhaps one day I’ll win the lottery and buy a new one, ha.

Tree of Life Embroidery version 2 - finished - front

Tree of Life Embroidery version 2 - finished - top close up Tree of Life Embroidery version 2 - finished - botton close up Tree of Life Embroidery version 2 - finished - back

And of course, I have to show the back!  I finished the embroidery right in the hoop as usual, trimming the extra fabric to about a half inch and gluing it to the inner hoop.  It only took about 10 minutes and creates a smooth finished look on the front.

Embroidery collectionMy embroidery collection is growing!  Pretty soon I’m going to have to expand the collection from my closet door to the adjacent walls.  I dream of an entire apartment covered in embroidery….  : )

Finally, I wanted to share a quick story about this project.  As I was working on it on a plane last weekend, the man sitting next to me started asking me about my craft projects, and before I knew it, he whipped out his phone and showed me some photos of hand-built and hand-carved wooden benches that he makes for friends’ weddings.  How awesome is that??  Craftiness is everywhere!

Happy 4th of July to all of you in the US, and happy Thursday to everyone else!

2 thoughts on “Tree of Life Embroidery, version 2 – finished!

Leave a Comment

