Yellow polka dot preview, and my ambitious next project

Yellow polka dot dress - yellow and gray fabrics cut

Thank you so much for all your great feedback on my turquoise and yellow dress!  I’m quite happy with the finished product, and I’m excited to crank out a very yellow version.  Behold progress on the new dress: yellow polka dot pieces cut, gray waistband pieces cut… and white lining fabric still uncut.  What can I say?  I did this after work tonight and ran out of steam.  Funny how working all day will do that to you.  : )

Yellow polka dot dress - preview of fabric layout

I couldn’t resist laying out the newly-cut pieces to see what the finished dress will look like… and wowza!!!  That is one hell of a bold, un-missable dress.  I really do enjoy wearing brightly colored clothing, so I guess I’m on the right track here.  Yellow and polka dots galore!  Look out, Boston!

In thinking ahead a little bit to my next project, I decided to actually plan ahead (shocking!) and order a hard copy pattern in advance.  That way the pattern can travel to my tiny apartment while I’m working on the yellow dress, and by the time the dress is done, I’ll have a new hard copy pattern in hand.  I’m patting myself on the back for this rare display of crafty foresight.

So what did I order?  Well.  I’m excited to report that I’ll be tackling a tailored blazer!  Ahhhh!

Simplicity 2446 pattern art

The pattern is Simplicity 2446, and there seem to be good reviews on Pattern Review and a slew of beautiful handmade blazers out there.  This is all very reassuring, as I’m pretty nervous about tackling a more advanced garment.  Well, more like terrified.  : )  But as they say, the best way to learn is by doing, and I’m going to dive into this project head first!

From what I’ve read, the instructions are very detailed and explain how to adjust the pattern for a good fit, so hopefully I’m in good hands.  I’m planning to do a dry run first (which will hopefully turn into a wearable muslin), and then maybe make a fancy version once I’m comfortable with the pattern.

It’s funny, I was eyeing this pattern online last night, and then today during my lunch break I just so happened to stumble upon Lynne’s ridiculously gorgeous floral blazer over at Wonderfully Made.  As I wiped the drool from my chin, I decided that I had to give it a try.  (Lynne, I am in awe of you!)

Thankfully I have a while to psych myself up for the blazer while I blissfully sew myself a yellow polka dot dress that you almost need sunglasses to look at.  : )

Hope you all had a great day!

Leave a Comment

