100th post: My “real life” outside of crafting

I’m happy to report that this is my 100th post here on Allspice Abounds – yay!  Thank you all so much for stopping by and making this blog such a happy, welcoming place for me to share my love of craft.  I truly enjoy sharing our collective triumphs and frustrations, and I look forward to many more crafty adventures to come.

With that said, I thought I would share a little bit about my “real life” outside of crafting.  I always find myself wondering what other bloggers are like offline, in their real lives, at work, with their family and friends, etc.  Crafting is just one part of a complex – and probably pretty awesome! – whole person.  Believe it or not, I’m not crafting all the time… although many times I wish I were.  : )

Hope you enjoy these absolutely thrilling tidbits about me:

Me with my brother circa 1986

With my brother, circa 1986

I grew up on Long Island, NY.  I didn’t realize how strong my accent was until I went away to college and got the infamous “Wow, you’re from New York, huh?” every time I opened my mouth.  Needless to say, I got rid of the accent (for the most part).  : )

College graduation

Graduation, 2002

I went to college in the middle of nowhere and decided that I want to live in a city for the rest of my life.  I love the hustle and bustle of city life and love that places are open *all the time.*

Working for the man

Human resources didn’t believe me when I told them about this.

I worked as an engineer for six years in Westchester County, NY (just north of NYC).  I learned that consulting is great for making money and having a stable job, but not so great for intellectual creativity.  I also learned that quitting a job you don’t like is one of the best feelings in the world.

Me doing something scientific

Science IN ACTION!

I’m currently a PhD student and work in a lab with other researchers.  I love my work, and going back to grad school was probably the best and most exciting/satisfying thing I’ve ever done for myself.  I’m broke, carless, and living in a shoebox, but I enjoy my life every single day.  There’s a lot to be said for that (I learned the hard way).

Me laughing at something

Laughing at something. Maybe a joke?

I really, really enjoy telling cheesy jokes.  Example: “A dairy farmer and his wife had a son.  What did they call the son?  Derriere.”  Is that hilarious or what??

Pig's head cake

Pig’s head cake! Photo from Nicole B. on Yelp

I love to eat and will eat pretty much anything.  I always order the most unusual dishes on menus.  A recent favorite was “pig’s head cake.”  I have no idea what part of the pig’s head was in that dish (it was decidedly not meat), but it was delicious nonetheless.

Maggie looking beautiful as always

Maggie makes my day everyday.

I love my cat as if I had actually given birth to her.  Crazy?  Maybe.  I don’t care.  : )

Me with the boyfriend

Cuteness!

I have an awesome boyfriend who lives down the street from me.  He is the most awesome person in the entire universe.  He doesn’t believe me, but I’m totally right about this.  : )

Of course there are many more things to say, but hopefully that gives you a little snapshot of my daily life out there in the real world.  Thank you again for visiting my humble little blog, and here’s to 100 more posts!

2 thoughts on “100th post: My “real life” outside of crafting

  1. Thank you so much; this was great. When I saw the first photo, I had to share it with your mom, who really appreciated it.
    Hope to see you soon, Carolyn.

    All the best,
    Sophia

    P.S. I can see why you love your cat so much; she’s beautiful. (I still have her on my fridge from the Christmas postcard your mom sent!)

Leave a Comment

