Cat’s meow reversible tote bag

Cat's meow tote bag 07

Cute and functional!  I whipped up this sweet reversible tote bag over the weekend and have been swooning over the cute kitties all week.  It makes me smile every time I look at it!  This is the third Gather Here tote bag I’ve made using the pattern from their “sewing basics” class that I took last winter.  I use the first one everyday as my lunch bag for work, so I can attest to its great functionality and durability.  Yay for more bags!  A woman can never have enough, in my opinion.  : )

Project details:

Pattern: Gather Here reversible tote bag.  (I don’t think the pattern is available online.)

Fabric: Cuzco by Kate Spain for Moda (pink/orange print); Pet Park by Robert Kaufman (cat print)

Modifications: None

Level of crafty satisfaction: Too cute, love it!

I went a little overboard with the photoshoot, but really, can one ever get enough cute cat fabric?  I didn’t think so.  : )  Enjoy the photos!

Cat's meow tote bag 01

The pink/orange print is technically the outside of the bag, with the cat fabric on the inside, since the straps only match this side of the bag.  This allows me to hide the cats if I don’t want to proclaim my kitty love all over town.  Ahem.  : )

Cat's meow tote bag 02

The construction of the bag is really simple.  Basically you make two bags (the outer fabric and the lining), put one inside the other, and top stitch around the top edge, positioning the straps in between the two layers.

Cat's meow tote bag 03 Cat's meow tote bag 04 Cat's meow tote bag 05

What a cute surprise when you reach into the bag and find a bunch of playful kitties!  I’m sure they’ll be good company for my lunch.  : )

Cat's meow tote bag 06 Cat's meow tote bag 10

Here’s the bag “inside out,” with the cat fabric on the outside.  Even though the straps are a different fabric, I think it works.  I can wear the bag this way when I’m really feeling the cat vibe.  And let’s face it, this is pretty much all the time.  : )

Cat's meow tote bag 09 Cat's meow tote bag 08

Both the inside and the outside look neat and finished, making it truly reversible.

Cat's meow tote bag 11And how sweet is this little kitty?  It was a complete accident that this cat wound up right on the inside of the bag opening, but it was quite a “happy accident,” as Bob Ross would say.  : )

Can’t wait to break in this cute new tote!

Leave a Comment

