Bright happy dress: lining complete

Bright happy dress - lining finished

I only managed to squeeze in 30 minutes of (hand) sewing yesterday, but at least it was productive!  The lining of my bright happy dress is now complete, and I’m pretty happy with how neat and clean everything looks on the inside of the dress.  I mattress-stitched the bodice lining to the zipper tape, and it blends in quite well with the skirt portion below.  I’ve said it once and I’ll say it again: I love the finished look of attaching a lining by hand.  : )

Bright happy dress - lining finished closeup

Even the center back neckline came out relatively well, and this is something I always struggle with.

Bright happy dress - hanging up

I tried the dress on after finishing up the lining, and I have to say, the fit is pretty darn good.  Not to mention the super bright and cheery print.  I can’t wait to wear this baby!

Bright happy dress - neckline detailAll that’s left now is the hem and the blue sash for the waistline.  I *might* wind up making some kind of belt loops for the sash since I think it’ll sit well above my hips, and high belts tend to fall down on me.  The last thing I want with such a happy dress is a droopy belt!

In other news, I’ve seen a lot of talk lately about Me Made May – an effort to wear handmade garments throughout the month – which I think is a pretty fabulous idea.  I don’t think I have enough handmade garments to actually pull it off with any kind of regularity, but I’m trying to embrace wearing my creations more often now that the weather is getting warmer.  Good luck to all of you participating!  I’ll be supporting you in spirit.  : )

Leave a Comment

