My first attempt at jewelry making!

All blue bead earrings

Jewelry!!  I had no idea how awesome making jewelry could be, but trust me, it is *awesome.*  I’m having so much fun with it and have so much more to learn.  A friend showed me the basics last weekend, and then this past weekend I picked up some supplies and made a handful of earrings… and now all I want to do is make jewelry all day long forever and ever.  : )

I made the blue earrings in the photo above with some cheapo beads from Michaels, some sliver coated wire, two sterling sliver ear hooks, and a few jump rings.  The design is modeled after a store-bought pair of earrings that I’ve had for a while.  Each earring took me 2-3 hours, but I’m only a beginner so I assume you can make these in a lot less time.  I love how they came out!

I made 2 more sets of earrings over the weekend, both using this tutorial over at Hello Whimsy Blog.  These are a lot simpler than the blue earrings above, and I’m glad I made them first.  Each earring took about 5-10 minutes to make.  Easy peasy!

Blue earrings

I wore the earrings above with a blue and white striped shirt today – very cute!

Pink earrings

A big part of my jewelry-making adventure was the discovery and subsequent falling in love with Boston Bead Company, a local bead store here in Cambridge, MA.  I’m all about supporting local small businesses, and this place definitely deserves my support.  The staff was super friendly and helpful as I navigated my way through the new and very exciting world of beads, and their bead selection is pretty impressive and drool-worthy.

The large dark blue beads and the green beads in the photos above came from this store, along with the wire and sterling silver ear hooks.  I also brought home 3 sets of jewelry-making pliers: round-nose pliers, chain-nose pliers, and a flush wire cutter.  Yay, tools!  I was even reading something yesterday that said you can use a power drill to coil wire… which of course I can’t wait to try!  You know I already own a power drill…  : )

I’ll try to be better about updating this blog as my jewelry adventure continues!

In other news, I’ve been making all sorts of other things lately too!  I made a bunch of fabric napkins from fat quarters and have been using them exclusively in my apartment for the past few weeks, and I even made a reusable fabric coffee filter for my new coffee addiction.  Ahem.  : )  Lots going on!

Hope you’re all doing well and enjoying the fall weather!

Leave a Comment

