Chicken, pineapples, and peaches, oh my

This dinner is seriously yellow… in a good way.  I’ve been making this a lot lately, especially with the overflowing shelves of fresh pineapples in the supermarket these days.  I use a big saute pan to grill a few chicken breast slices (sprinkled with cajun seasoning), grill some fresh pineapple chunks in the same pan with the chicken, and cook some Goya spanish rice (right out of the box!) in my handy-dandy rice cooker.  All yellow, all delicious, all in less than 30 minutes.  You can even do it in about 15  minutes if the rice is already made from the night before.  Easy peasy!

A few disclaimers: (1) I totally stole this combo of yellow ingredients from a friend.  It was too delicious not to steal.  Come on now.  : )  (2) I highly recommend using fresh pineapple as opposed to canned, but only because of the price.  These days I can get a whole HUGE pineapple for less than 3 bucks!  Why not get it nice and fresh when it’s so cheap and so tasty?  Then again, I find that canned pineapple is actually pretty good, so either will work just as well.  And (3), yes, I ate all of this.  And dessert.  I’m not shy about eating a nice big dinner after a long day of work!  Shovel it in, baby!

And speaking of dessert, I made a peach honey smoothie in my mini food processor.  Yum!  The ingredients are super simple: 1 cup (or whatever you call the little package it comes in) of Chobani plain Greek yogurt, a few frozen peaches, a “drizzle” of honey, and a “sprinkle” of sugar.  You can see how exact and scientific I am when I cook.  : )  Cool, sweet, and light – a great summer dessert.

I prefer using frozen fruit when making dessert smoothies as opposed to fresh, but only for the consistency of the finished product.  I feel like fresh fruit smoothies are more “watery” than frozen fruit smoothies, and I like my smoothies to be on the thicker side.  Then again, I always use fresh fruit when I want more of a “drinkable” smoothie, so there you have it.  Do whatever you like!

In other news, I’m working on the bias-tape armholes of my red polka dot dress, and they’re pretty much blowing my mind.  More to come on that soon.  And finally, do you recognize the placemat from the first photo?  My creations are getting a lot of practical use these days.  : )

Now go buy a fresh pineapple and grill it up!

2 thoughts on “Chicken, pineapples, and peaches, oh my

  1. This inspired me to make a unique (for me) chicken salad with cashews, pears and celery in the mix. Tasted like dessert without being laden with refined sugar.

    Thank you, Carolyn!

Leave a Comment

