Tree of Life embroidery: finished!

I could not be more thrilled to finally present my finished Tree of Life embroidery.  : )  I really don’t have all that much to say about it, other than the fact that this was a truly enjoyable project from beginning to end, and I am smiling from ear to ear as I present the finished project to you.  I am like a proud mama displaying her child for all to see.  Really, if I could roll around naked in this embroidery, I would.  Seriously, I am in love with it.  : )

I snapped a few photos in the hopes of showing you some of the details of the stitches… oh, those wonderful stitches!  My camera isn’t the greatest and I took these photos at night (ugh!), but hopefully you can see some of the detail.  Can you see my undying love in each and every stitch??

The top portion with cute pink ribbon:

And the bottom portion including two blue octagons that I’m pretty proud of:

Here’s a full view of the back.  I snipped the extra fabric within a half-inch or so of the edge of the hoop, and I simply folded it over and glued it in place.  The entire finishing process took me about 10 minutes.  Not perfect, but who cares?  It’s the BACK, people.  : )

I did try to keep the floats and knots in the back as neat as possible, mostly because the fabric is white and I didn’t want anything to show through on the front of the piece.  I probably could have been a bit sloppier about it, but really, the sloppiness gene is just not in my DNA.

An artistic (?) side-angle view of the finished piece hanging on my closet door.

And finally, another photo of the entire hoop in all its embroidered glory.  Did I mention that I am in love with this project?  Oh…. I did?  Well, let me just say it one more time.  I freaking LOVE this one!  : )

To tie up a few loose ends: I mentioned in an earlier post that the water-soluble blue pen that I had used to trace this pattern was giving me a bit of trouble, but thankfully, spraying the entire piece (from edge to edge in all directions) did the trick.  I suppose I could have also just dunked the piece in a tub of water to completely soak it.  Apparently the key is not to leave any dry spots where blue ink will reappear.

Also, to make your own beautiful Tree of Life embroidery, please go purchase the pattern from the Polka and Bloom Etsy shop!  Carina’s patterns are gorgeous, well-drawn, very affordable (only a few bucks!), and they even come with stitching instructions and the DMC floss colors that she used.  Awesome!

Ahhh, embroidery.  My new love.  My new addiction.  I think this project was the embroidery gateway drug.  What hardcore craziness will I work on next, haha?  I do have that fungi embroidery in progress… photos to come soon… and I have a few other ideas swirling around in my head.  For now though, I’m just going to sit back and admire my finished project.  : )

8 thoughts on “Tree of Life embroidery: finished!

  1. This is so magnificent, beautiful, excellent, as perfect as any human being can make something! Thank you for the inspiration of your art! If you haven’t already, send a link to your mom. If you don’t, I will!

    Love,
    Aunt Sophia

  2. caz, im very impressed, but then again, I gave you the {impressive} genes,you can thank me any time…..daz

Leave a Comment

