Red and purple scarf: finished!

Red and purple scarf - done white coat

My first finished knitting project in ages – the red and purple scarf!  Yay!  : )  I couldn’t be more pleased with how it all came out.  The color combo – love it.  I had questioned it for a while, but once I wrapped this scarf around my neck and saw the “pop” against my jacket, I was in love.  So bright and cheery without being obnoxious.  I’m also really glad I decided to go with two strands held together because the thickness is perfect – squishy and sold enough to really keep out the cold, but flexible enough to fold and wrap however I want.  The final dimensions are about 55 inches long by 5 inches wide, just right for my taste.  I love you, my new scarfy friend!

Red and purple scarf - almost done

I was fortunate to wrap up work by lunchtime on Friday, so I came home a little early and worked on the scarf for a bit that afternoon.  Ah, I love knitting during the day – so relaxing, the sun shining in (until 4 pm anyway!), and cheesy daytime tv on in the background.  I actually got a lot done on Friday, and I finished up the last little bits between Saturday and today.  Above the scarf is *almost* done, rippling away on the couch in anticipation of its triumphant debut, and below it’s all finished, basking in its red and purple glory.

Red and purple scarf - done on couch

I’m surprised Maggie’s head didn’t show up in this photo.  She must have been distracted by a squirrel out the window or something.  : )  Anyway, this simple little project has indeed sparked a little inspiration on the knitting front, considering it had been abandoned all semester.  How sad!  I’m still thinking that some fair-isle mittens are in my future, and I *think* I have a pattern all picked out.  I want a challenge but something that I can finish within a reasonable amount of time.  (Ha, “reasonable” is so subjective!)  Anyway, more on that later.  For now, let’s enjoy this red and purple goodness while it’s still fresh.  Here’s how the scarf looks against my black winter coat:

Red and purple scarf - done black coat

Not bad!  I like the “pop” of color, and I like that fact that I was getting super hot while modeling this inside – a good sign of how the scarf will hold up outdoors on the chilly streets of Boston.  Can’t wait to bust this out on my commute tomorrow morning!  I wonder how many compliments I’ll get… hmm… probably none, but I’ll *imagine* that everyone I walk past will be admiring it in silence.  : )  Yeah, I’m sure they’ll all be too shy to comment on such a masterpiece, hahaha.

Anyway, that’s the story!  Total cost of this scarf = $22 (two balls of Cascade 220 Superwash).  Total time to complete = a few days, spaced out over a few weeks.  Level of crafty satisfaction = pretty highI  All in all, this was a great project.

To all my Cambridge neighbors: be prepared to shield your eyes from the awesomeness when you see this baby on the streets tomorrow morning.  : )

Leave a Comment

