Skillet rosemary chicken: my new favorite dinner

Skillet rosemary chicken -ready for oven

Mmmm… this was delicious.  It’s the Food Network’s skillet rosemary chicken, and it’s hands-down the most delicious and satisfying dinner I’ve made in a long time.  Not only is it super tasty, but it’s pretty healthy, nice and hearty on a cold night, and not all that difficult to put together.  All in all, I give this recipe 5 stars, plus a gold star because it’s so pretty to look at.  : )  It took me about an hour and a half to make last night, which is a little on the long side, but the amazing results are worth the effort.  More photos after the jump!

One of the great things about this recipe is that doesn’t use any rare or expensive ingredients – just good old meat and potatoes – but still manages to turn them into something unusually delicious.  I picked up some chicken breasts (with skin, on the bone – the key to keeping the chicken moist and juicy), some red potatoes, mushrooms, lemons, garlic, and fresh rosemary.  Man, I love fresh rosemary. I sniff it at the grocery store in anticipation of eating it later.  It smells so good!

Skillet rosemary chicken - ingredients

The first steps are to start browning the chicken in a large skillet and get the potatoes boiling in a saucepan.  While these two were simmering away, I made the lemon sauce.  This, my friends, is what makes this dish so tasty – you really can’t go wrong with this combination of ingredients!  I just chopped up the rosemary and garlic, added some salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, and mixed in fresh lemon juice and olive oil.  Whisk it all up, and it looks something like this:

Skillet rosemary chicken - sauce

YUM.  Don’t forget to taste-test it as you go.  : )  When the skin-side of the chicken started getting brown and crispy, I flipped them over and added the mushrooms and lemon sauce.  The recipe doesn’t really say how long to let this cook, but I left it there for about 5 minutes or so, just so the mushrooms could start to soften up.  At this point your dinner is starting to look pretty yummy.

Skillet rosemary chicken - in skillet

By this point, the potatoes were about ready, so I drained them and put them in an oven-safe bowl (a casserole dish would have been better, but poor grad students like me have to use what we’ve got, ha).  Look at that steam!

Skillet rosemary chicken - potatoes

Once the potatoes were patiently waiting at the bottom of the bowl, I piled everything else on top: first the mushrooms and remaining lemon sauce from the skillet, then the chicken breasts (not yet fully cooked, but will cook more in the oven).  I finished it off with some additional chopped rosemary and the juice of another lemon.  What you get is the gorgeous layered concoction at the top of this post – don’t you just want to eat this RIGHT NOW?  : )  I know I did.  But… the chicken is still raw inside, so into the oven it goes.  I baked it for about 25-30 minutes, and it came out looking like this:

Skillet rosemary chicken - all done

Crispy and delicious!  Ignore the huge cuts in the center of the breasts – I’m paranoid about making sure my meat is cooked and am willing to sacrifice a photo to do it, haha.  Anyway, I figure I can get 3-4 dinners out of this, so I sliced off a section of chicken, scooped out some potatoes and sauce, and threw the rest in the fridge.  Based on the first time I made this, it keeps really well.  Awesome.  Here’s my hearty serving (I’m a hungry girl!) all ready to go into my belly:

Skillet rosemary chicken - ready to eat

I think I inhaled this in about 5 minutes flat.  It was amazing.  Tasty, juicy, and plenty of sauce for dipping the chicken.  Mmmmmm.  I love when a dish comes out better than expected, and this really went way beyond my expectations.  I’ll definitely be making it again and again throughout the winter.

In other cooking news, no, I haven’t attempted any of Martha’s cookie recipes yet, although they are definitely on my mind.  I was looking through them yesterday in the hopes of finding an “easy” one to start with, but no such luck.  They’re all absolutely ridiculous!!!  But whatever, I am not dismayed.  Those cookies will be mine.  Oh yes, they will be mine.  : )

Leave a Comment

