Hand-crafted inspiration at the MFA

Elizabeth Okie Paxton, The Open Window, 1922

Today I spent the day at the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston, arguably my favorite place to hang out in the city.  I’ve been there a few times since I moved here, and each time I focus on a different exhibit or collection.  The MFA is so big – who knows if I’ll ever see all of it!  As usual for me, my eye is drawn to pieces inspired by (or actually consisting of) hand-crafted workmanship.  Today’s highlight was the painting above – a woman, begrudgingly sewing at her desk, longs for a more exciting life beyond the window.  Ironically, I feel exactly the opposite – wishing my daily grind contained a little more time for creative endeavors.  Funny how times have changed.

I’ve included some other favorites below – some displaying brilliant craftsmanship, others simply gorgeous pieces that I’d love to hang in my living room one day.  : )  Hope you enjoy them as much as I did!

P.S. – I’ve you’ve never been to the MFA and happen to find yourself in the Boston area, it’s definitely worth checking out.  If you see a crazy lady drooling over the paintings, that’ll be me.  : )

Leave a Comment

