Enjoying life and looking forward

Maggie avoiding the camera

This was my first full work week after my schedule calmed down, and wow did that make a HUGE difference.  Classes are over, my calendar isn’t chopped into 100 little pieces every week, I’m not working until 11 pm anymore, and I finally have time to relax and breathe a bit.  You know, like a normal human being.  : )  It’s about time, geez!  I had missed my life, and I’m very happy to have it back.

Here’s what I’ve been up to now that Robot Carolyn has been unplugged and put into long-term storage:

Craftiness returns

I’ve been working on my red and purple scarf, slowly but surely.  (Sorry, no photos!  I ran out of batteries, so my camera is out of commission until I get my butt to CVS.)  Good thing this project is moving along, because it’s finally starting to get a little chilly here in Boston.  This little project is turning out to be exactly what I had hoped – a simple pattern to relax with at the end of the day.  Perhaps this masterpiece will be done before the holidays??

Muscles return

The gym.  How I’ve missed you and your sweaty muscle-forming torture.  I got to the gym THREE times this week, which is three times more than my fall semester total!  It’s been amazing.  Not only did I forget how much I missed hitting the gym after a long day, but I missed actually moving around on a daily basis.  After sitting in a chair for 16 hours a day for three months straight, it’s been so great to wake up my tired body and start using it for a change.  Everything is sore, and I couldn’t be happier.  : )  Now all I need to do is stop eating like a stressed-out grad student, and maybe I’ll actually get back into shape.  Funny how the stress-eating didn’t trail off when the actual stress did.  Hmmmm.  : )

My social life returns

Robot Carolyn was a bit of a loner – she just didn’t have an ounce of time for social interaction of any kind.  How depressing!  Thankfully Real Carolyn is getting back into the swing of things and spending time with real live human beings again.  How nice!  Just like with the gym, I had forgotten how beneficial it is to talk to people and share a meal.  And if you’re wondering how it was possible that I didn’t really have a decent conversation with anyone all semester…. well, that’s how ridiculously busy and stressed I was.  Goodbye to long hours hunched over a desk by myself, hello to days out with friends and pot-luck dinners.  It’s good to be back.

Final thoughts and a look ahead

Going back to grad school full-time is probably the best decision I’ve ever made for myself, even though sometimes it means turning into a grumpy, pale, atrophied robot.  I knew the first few years wouldn’t be easy, what with classes and teaching and exams and such, but overall, I think I’m happier than I’ve been in a long time.  I’ve also learned to really make the most out of down time like this, so in that spirit, here are a few things that have been swirling around in my mind as fun projects for the winter break:

  • Knitting: Finish my scarf, and start a new project: something small but more complex, maybe some fair-isle mittens? Perhaps this or this?
  • Sewing: Finally get back to my Wee Wonderfuls projects.  I started the “I Heart You” doll over the summer and haven’t touched it in months!  She’s been sadly hibernating in a drawer and is dying to get out.  Sometimes I hear whimpering… aww, I’m coming for you, sweetie!
  • Cooking: I want to bake Christmas cookies!  You know where I’m headed with this, right?  Martha Stewart = cookie goddess.
  • Exercise: My goal for next week is getting to the gym 4 times.  Can I do it???  We’ll see!  I’ll be happy with 3 but am aiming for 4.  Gotta get my six-pack abs back!  Hahaha, more like, gotta get them in the first place… but whatever.  : )
  • And finally, Holiday Prep: Family-sized pans of homemade lasagna and meatballs are creeping into my thoughts more and more often these days.  As the official Christmas-dinner-maker in my family, I’m pumped for another round.  Bring it!

Ah, it’s nice to have my life back.  And since I don’t have any new photos for you today, you get a picture of Maggie from a few weeks ago… checking out the camera and then looking away right when I took the picture.  Figures, what a diva.  : )

Leave a Comment

