Is spinning supposed to be this uncomfortable?

After a long and exhausting semester with essentially zero free time to enjoy being a human being, I’m making my grand return to one of my favorite places on earth: the gym.  Ah, the gym!  My old friend.  My loyal companion.  The one place I can go to let out all my frustrations and burn some calories at the same time.  A labmate recently tried a spinning class, and I decided to give it a try with her tonight.  All I knew about spinning was that it involved indoor bicycles; clearly I had no idea what I was in for.  It turns out that spinning is hands-down the most painful and most uncomfortable form of exercise I’ve ever endured.  Is this normal?

If you’re a spinning pro, please chime in here.  Does it get better?  Am I doing it wrong?  Is it supposed to flatten my you-know-what into a pancake?  Am I supposed to be hunched over like Quasimoto?  I was so distracted by the pain in my back, wrists, and lady parts that I couldn’t focus on working out.  I wound up giving up about halfway through and was counting down the minutes until I could get off that torture-device bike.  The worst part was that I could have pushed myself and gotten my heart rate up if I hadn’t been so super uncomfortable.  Booooo.  Spinning 1, Carolyn 0.

Another interesting observation from the class tonight: the instructor shut the lights, and we spun by the light of a string of white holiday lights.  Is this what usually happens?  I found it a little strange.  Hmmm.

Anyway, I’ve decided to give it one more try before completely abandoning spinning and the associated ouchies.  Maybe Round 2 will be better?  We’ll see.  For now, I’m going back to my usual workout routine of step and free weights until my body stops hurting.  Don’t worry gym, I still love you!

Leave a Comment

