Red and purple scarf: the beginning

Red and purple scarf

With the insanity of this fall semester, I haven’t been doing much in the way of creative endeavors.  (I have, however, gotten a boat load of work done.)  So, having missed out on much of the coveted fall knitting season, I decided to dip my overworked little toes back into the knitting waters with a super-simple, mindless little project: a scarf.  Yes, a scarf.  A big, long rectangle that requires pretty much zero brain power and creativity.  This type of project is exactly on par with my mental capacity these days – sad but true.  Anyway, this simple project is slowly and gently bringing me back to my zen state of knitting relaxation, and it’s a much-welcomed change.  Hello, knitting.  Nice to see you again.

After mulling it over for a while, I decided on a simple moss stitch pattern for this scarf.  As far as I’m concerned, moss stitch is the ideal stitch pattern for knitted scarves.  I’ve been at this for a few years now and just haven’t found anything better at giving me what I’m looking for in a scarf: something reversible, something that will hold its shape, something squishy and warm, and something that shows off the yarn well.  Moss stitch it is!  Not to mention it’s easy to memorize and pretty much impossible to screw up.  Here’s a close-up of the pattern:

Red and purple scarf - closeup

As for the yarn, that decision was a little harder.  Isn’t it always?  So many beautiful yarns to choose from, but none of them exactly perfect.  I finally decided on some Cascade 220 Superwash in red and purple, and I’m knitting with two strands held together on a US 6 needle.  (I picked up the yarn at Mind’s Eye Yarns in Porter Square – a great little yarn shop here in Cambridge.)  The pattern and squishiness are exactly what I was looking for, but I’m not convinced that this color combo isn’t ass-ugly.  What do you think?  I wanted something bright that would jump out against my black winter coat… but red and purple?  Am I crazy, or is this a brilliant stroke of genius?  Haha, I guess I’ll get my answer once I start wearing this bad boy in public.  : )

Ball bands - Cascade 220 superwash

Of course, my cat Maggie just *had* to help with the photo shoot…

Maggie helps with photoshoot

Scarf and sweet paws

Aren’t those furry white paws adorable?

Anyway, I’m happy to be back on the knitting wagon, and hopefully this simple little project will inspire a more intricate one in the coming weeks.  After all, I do have my winter break coming up!  Ah, an entire month free from classes, exams, and other miscellaneous school-related stress.  I’ll still be working full time in the lab, but at least I’ll have my nights and weekends to myself again… which I can fill with delicious cooking and craftiness.  In other words, my life as it should be.  : )

So, what’s your simple go-to project when all your brain cells are fried?

4 thoughts on “Red and purple scarf: the beginning

Leave a Comment

