Me Made May 2014: How did I do?

Me Made May 2014Me Made May is over – hooray!!  Congratulations to everyone who participated!  Although I wasn’t an official participant, I played along on my own, just for fun.  :)  Here were my personal guidelines:

  • Write down what I wear each day, including all handmade garments and accessories.
  • Consciously think about wearing at least one handmade garment each day.  I asked myself each morning: “What handmade items can I wear today?”
  • If I didn’t feel like wearing anything handmade, I didn’t force myself.
  • As the month went on, I tried to wear handmade garments that hadn’t been worn earlier in the month.

Not too bad, right?  I didn’t want to give myself hard and fast RULES to follow, because I really dislike sewing-related rules, deadlines, etc.  I did, however, think about my handmade garments a lot, and I wound up wearing a lot of them too!

Are you ready to see how I did?  Being a scientist by day, I made a bunch of nerdy charts.  Enjoy.  :)

Me Made May 2014 Chart 1

Out of the 31 days during May, I wore at least 1 handmade garment for 23 days.  On 10 of those days, I wore 2 garments!  Inevitably, there were some days (8) when I didn’t wear any handmade clothing.  I found that one of the following was happening on those days:

  • I was lounging around the house on a weekend.
  • I had some physical and/or messy lab work to do that day.
  • The weather didn’t cooperate.  (It was a rainy month!)
  • I wanted to wear a favorite RTW garment.

Me Made May 2014 Chart 2

For the 23 days that I did wear handmade garments, I broke it down into tops, bottoms, dresses, etc.  I mostly wore tops, which isn’t surprising because I have so many of them.  All the bottoms that I wore were skirts, which also isn’t surprising since I haven’t yet attempted to sew pants.  I wore dresses on 4 days… and each time I had to force myself to do it.  Sad but true!  I never regretted wearing a dress though.  :)

One of the best things that came out of the month was that I wore my blue blazer a lot more than usual.  May has been the perfect month for wearing it – it’s been just the right temperature to wear the blazer as a light jacket.  I think I forgot about it a bit during the winter, as it’s not really heavy enough to keep me warm, but the spring weather has been just right!  I love love LOVE wearing it.

I often wore the blazer over a Renfrew or an Archer.  Blazer + Archer = my favorite combination!  So crisp.  :)

Me Made May 2014 Chart 3

I wore at least 1 handmade accessory for 26 out of 31 days – awesome!  I found that wearing my handmade accessories is easy, especially now that I have a bunch of handmade undies.  :)  On the days when I wore more than 1 accessory, it was usually undies and a piece of jewelry.  I have a handful of handmade earrings that are in high rotation, and I found that I didn’t have to force myself to wear them at all.  On colder days, I often wore this infinity scarf.

Me Made May 2014 Chart 4I wore a lot of Renfrews.  Shocking, right??  :)  I wore one of my beloved Renfrews on 14 out of the 31 days, usually with jeans.  I already knew I wore them often, but apparently I wear one practically every other day!  I really enjoy wearing them though, and I often find myself making a mental note to sew up some more.  What can I say?  :)

Final Thoughts

I really enjoyed participating in Me Made May, albeit unofficially.  It was an interesting challenge and really got me thinking about what I sew, why I sew, and what I like to wear on a daily basis.  Here are some of my very scientific observations and conclusions:

  • My job often requires wearing comfortable clothing that I can move around in.  Renfrews are great for this.
  • I enjoy wearing dresses in theory, but they aren’t very practical for work.
  • I need handmade pants!!
  • When I take the time to plan (and iron!) my outfit the night before, I wind up walking out the door looking more put together.
  • The weather has a huge effect on what I wear on any given day.
  • I really enjoy wearing some of my RTW clothes.  No shame!

I had a lot of fun during the month, and hopefully I’ll continue to think about my handmade garments each morning when I get dressed.

How did you do with your MMM pledge?  What insights did you discover?

15 comments
  1. Kathy Lynch said:

    Hi Carolyn! Have only recently discovered your blog so thought I’d say “Hi”. Good for you participating in MMM on your terms – a great idea! I’ve really only started sewing in earnest this year after a very long hiatus (about 15 years!) so I’m afraid I would have run out of Me Made outfits VERY early in the month! Maybe next year… By the way, I think your “nerdy charts” are cute! :)

    • Carolyn said:

      Hi Kathy, and thanks for stopping by! I felt exactly the same way when MMM came around last year. This year I probably had enough, but I didn’t want to put any pressure on myself. Hopefully next year you’ll have a closet full of beautiful handmade garments to choose from! Best of luck ramping up your sewing adventures. :)

  2. Oh Carolyn you made me laugh ;-) Like you I’m thinking about making more trousers. They are simply handier for my daily life – and warmer,too… The summer is always to short for me!

    • Carolyn said:

      Haha, thanks Tutti. :) And I agree – I need way more winter clothes than summer clothes. I can only wear sleeveless tops and dresses for 3-4 months of the year – sad but true! Sewing pants is definitely toward the top of my to-do list too.

  3. Chantal said:

    I love your charts! I discovered that the weather is a huge influence for me too, and that I have nothing to wear on rainy days!

    • Carolyn said:

      Haha, thanks Chantal! Rainy days are tough, especially if you have to spend time outside. I walk to work, so I really have to dress for the weather. I often just wind up wearing jeans – the ultimate fall-back!

  4. Emmely said:

    I can’t believe you call your underwear an accessory. It’s a necessity!
    I think I’ll participate next year, it does seem to give some insight in what kind of clothes you really prefer to wear. I’m with you that dresses aren’t very practical when doing labwork. I do like them though but I should really invest some time in fitting a pair of trousers so I can add those to my me made wardrobe as well.

    • Carolyn said:

      Haha, I completely agree. Underwear is not optional (at least for this woman)! :)

      It seems that sewing pants is a scary thought for most sewists (including myself), and it really shouldn’t be. We should all just go for it! Sew Busy Lizzy is doing Jeans in June/July, and I’ll be curious to see how it goes for her.

      • Emmely said:

        Yes, I saw her announcement post after I posted my reply here. Perhaps I should join… It is surely more fun when a lot more people are struggling with the same thing.

        • Carolyn said:

          I’ll be sure to follow along if you do. Pants for everyone!

        • Emmely said:

          That’s a deal!

  5. Also giggled when I saw undies listed with the accessories!
    And congratulations on managing to pull off MMM so well. I’m at least a year away from it too. I may just have enough for half of the September challenge – next year. I rarely wear dresses so Froctober is beyond me.
    Loving the blog.

    • Carolyn said:

      Haha, thanks! MMM was fun, especially since I didn’t give myself rigid rules, just general guidelines to think about each day. It took almost 2 years of sewing before I felt I had enough garments to participate. You’ll get there! Just keep sewing… :) And thanks for stopping by!

  6. To be honest, I’ve never taken the MM pledge at any time– since my sewing is generally all over the place and my closet isn’t absolutely cohesive with handmade garments. But I think looking at your very carefully crafted charts definitely gives me some pause about it all. I really gotta work on beefing up my wardrobe with some more practical items!

    • Carolyn said:

      Haha! I always have this mental struggle: sewing practical garments vs. sewing pretty/fancy things. What convinces me is looking at my past projects and seeing how much more often I wear basic tops than fancy dresses. It all depends on your goals though: sewing to build your wardrobe, or sewing purely for fun! Whatever works for you. :)

Leave a Comment

